Forum Sponsored “April” Meeting (January 28-31 2017) Sessions

8:30 a.m. Saturday (Invited)

Plenary Session I: Science Policy in the 21st Century
Room: Ballroom Salon 2/3
Chair: Daniel Holz, University of Chicago
Invited Speakers: John Holdren, Cherry Murray, Rush Holt Jr., Bill Foster

1:30 p.m. Saturday

Nuclear Testing Limitations and Monitoring Low Level Radioactivity
Room: Delaware A
Sponsor: FPS
Chair: Thomas Cochran, Natural Resources Defense Council
Invited Speakers: Pierce S. Corden, Charles Carrigan, Lassina Zerbo

10:45 a.m. Sunday

FPS Awards Session
Room: TBD

3:30 p.m. Sunday (Invited)

The Social Legacy of the Manhattan Project
Room: Delaware A
Sponsor: FPS FHP DNP
Chair: Allen Sessoms, Georgetown University
Invited Speakers: Daniel Kevles, Kelsey Davenport, Carlton Stoiber

5:45 p.m. Sunday

APS Prizes and Awards Ceremonial Session
Room: TBD

8:00 p.m. Sunday

Staged Reading of the Play: Reykjavik
Room: TBD

1:30 p.m. Monday

The Roles of Physicists in International and Nonprofit Organizations
Room: Delaware A
Sponsor: FPS FIP
Chair: Allen Sessoms, Georgetown University
Invited Speakers: Charles D. Massey, Anne-Marie Mazza

3:30 p.m. Monday (Invited)

Classically Forbidden Transitions: Tunneling Through the Barriers to Advance Women and Minorities in Physics
Room: Maryland B
Sponsor: FPS COM
Chair: Beverly Hartline, Montana Tech of the University of Montana
Invited Speakers: Jocelyn Bell Surnell, Njema Frazier, Keivan Stassun

These contributions have not been peer-refereed. They represent solely the view(s) of the author(s) and not necessarily the view of APS.