Pake Prize Winner

The Pake Prize was endowed in 1983 by the Xerox Corporation in recognition of the outstanding achievements of George E. Pake, as a research physicist and a director of industrial research. It recognizes and encourages outstanding work by physicists combining original research accomplishments with leadership in the management of research or development in industry.

We are pleased to announce that Dale Compton of Purdue University is the 2014 winner of the Pake Prize. His citation reads: “For exemplary leadership of corporate automotive R&D at a critical time for the industry and for important individual achievements in experimental solid state physics.”

Opinions expressed represent the views of the individual authors and not the American Physical Society or authors’ employers.