APS Fellowship

The Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics is proud to present a list of members nominated by FIAP and elected to Fellowship in the American Physical Society. Each new fellow is elected after careful and competitive review and recommendation by the FIAP Fellowship Committee, additional review by the APS Fellowship Committee and final approval by the full APS Council.
Gray Arrow Fellowship Criteria for Industrial Physicists format_pdf
Gray Arrow How to Nominate a Fellow Through FIAP format_pdf

Gray arrow FIAP Deadline for APS Fellowship Nomination: Monday, June 3, 2019
Gray arrow APS Fellowship Information

APS Fellows Nominated by FIAP  

Filter by Year:

Hays, Dan A. [1998]
Xerox Corporation
Citation: For original contributions to the physics of Xerography.

Khosla, Rajinder P. [1998]
National Science Foundation
Citation: In recognition of exemplary leadership in developing innovative and creative applications of microelectronics in imaging technology.

Mate, Charles Mathew [1998]
IBM Almaden Research Center
Citation: For his pioneering contributions establishing the field of nanoscale tribology, producing widespread impact on technology, particularly on lubrication in disk drives.

Meyerson, Bernard S. [1998]
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Citation: For the invention of ultra-high vacuum chemical vapor deposition and its application to low temperature silicon epitaxy, especially the fabrication of SiGe heterojunction bipolar integrated circuits for wireless telecommunications.

Possin, George Edward [1998]
General Electric Corp. R & D
Citation: For sustained excellence in the science and technology of medical X-ray imaging equipment, flat panel displays, and semiconductor physics.

Proctor, Ivan David [1998]
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Citation: For producing accuracy, capacity and capability improvements in accelerator mass spectrometry that have contributed to archaeology, the earth sciences, the biological sciences and arms control.

Rimai, Donald S. [1998]
Eastman Kodak Company
Citation: For his contributions in the fields of particle adhesion and electrophotography.

Sai-Halasz, George Anthony [1998]
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Citation: For his applications of physics in seminal contributions to microelectronics.

Tang, Ching W. [1998]
Eastman Kodak Company
Citation: For his pioneering work in organic light emitting diodes.

Tibbetts, Gary George [1998]
General Motors R & D Center
Citation: For his pioneering research which led to the discovery of vapor-phase growth of carbon fibers from natural gas and for his subsequent significant researches on the properties and applications of these fibers.

Tiwari, Sandip [1998]
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Citation: For contributions to understanding of device physics and for innovations in small electronics and optical devices with strong quantum confinement.

Weiler, Margaret Horton [1998]
Lockheed Martin
Citation: For fundamental contributions to HgCdTe infrared detector and GaAs microwave device technologies, in the development and experimental validation of new physical models for semiconductor device properties and their influence on system applications.