2014 Excellence in Physics Education Award Recipient

The Excellence in Physics Education Award recognizes and honors a team or group of individuals (such as a collaboration), or exceptionally a single individual, who have exhibited a sustained commitment to excellence in physics education. In 2014, this award recognizes High School Modeling Instruction. It was awarded to the American Modeling Teachers Association, and to Colleen Megowan, David Hestenes, and Jane Jackson. The citation reads,

“For their impacts on physics teaching nationally through Modeling Instruction Workshops and curriculum materials, and for contributions to physics education research through Modeling Theory.”

Disclaimer – The articles and opinion pieces found in this issue of the APS Forum on Education Newsletter are not peer refereed and represent solely the views of the authors and not necessarily the views of the APS.