APS Members Recognized by AAPT for Excellence in Physics Education

The following major awards were presented at the 2013 AAPT Winter Meeting in New Orleans, LA. Learn more about the Winter Meeting and view the plenary talks.

The John David Jackson Award for Excellence in Graduate Physics Education is presented to physicists and physics educators who, like John David Jackson after whom the award is named, have made outstanding contributions to curriculum development, mentorship, or classroom teaching in graduate physics education. The 2013 award was presented to David Pines, Center for Advanced Study, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana-Champaign, IL.

The Oersted Medal recognizes those who have had an outstanding, widespread, and lasting impact on the teaching of physics.  The 2013 award was presented to Edward (Joe) Redish, University of Maryland, College Park, MD.

Established in 1953 and renamed in recognition of one of the AAPT founders, Homer L. Dodge in 2012, the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT is presented to members in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the association at the national, sectional, or local level. Awards were presented to Stanley Micklavzina, Sarah (Sam) McKagan and A. James (Jim) Mallmann.

For further information, see all of the AAPT awards and recognition programs.

Disclaimer–The articles and opinion pieces found in this issue of the APS Forum on Education Newsletter are not peer refereed and represent solely the views of the authors and not necessarily the views of the APS.