APS Fellowship

The APS Fellowship Program was created to recognize members who may have made advances in knowledge through original research and publication or made significant and innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. They may also have made significant contributions to the teaching of physics or service and participation in the activities of the Society. Each year, no more than one-half of one percent of the then current membership of the Society are recognized by their peers for election to the status of Fellow in The American Physical Society.

Fellowship nominations may be submitted by anyone who is a member of the APS in good standing. All members of DPP are strongly encouraged to nominate colleagues whom they consider worthy of this recognition. See the Fellowship nomination information page for guidance on submitting nominations.
Gray arrow DPP Deadline for APS Fellowship Nomination: Friday, March 30, 2018
Gray arrow APS Fellowship Information

APS Fellows Nominated by DPP  

Filter by Year:

Bilek, Marcela M. [2012]
University of Sydney
Citation: For outstanding contributions to the physics of plasma processing, resulting in plasma sources, processes and materials with applications to industries ranging from information technology to biomedicine

Den Hartog, Daniel J. [2012]
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Citation: For novel advances in and applications of optical and spectroscopic plasma diagnostic techniques in different magnetic configurations, and for critical experimental contributions in understanding magnetic self-organization in the reversed field pinch

Dimits, Andris M. [2012]
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Citation: For important insights and contributions to the theory and simulation of kinetic turbulent transport in magnetized plasmas, including the effects of self-consistent turbulence-induced velocity shear and Coulomb collisions

Eliasson, Bengt [2012]
Ruhr Univ Bochum
Citation: For seminal contributions to computational and nonlinar plasma physics involving novel parametric interactions and coherent nonlinear structures at scales ranging from kinetic to quantum

Fernandez, Juan C. [2012]
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Citation: For outstanding and sustained contributions in laser-plasma interactions, relativistic laser-plasmas, and self-organizing force-free magnetized plasmas, and in their application to fusion research and national security

Frenje, Johan [2012]
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Citation: For pioneering development of unique neutron diagnostic methods and their utilization in inertial confinement fusion research, particularly in assessing implosion performance in fundamental and applied nuclear-science experiments

Goebel, Dan M. [2012]
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Citation: For the invention, development, and fielding of novel plasma devices used in science and industry, including magnetic fusion, propulsion, microwave-source, and semiconductor-processing research

Gorelenkov, Nikolai [2012]
Princeton University
Citation: For ground-breaking research on predictions and observations of energetic-particle-driven electromagnetic instabilities in magnetically-confined toroidal plasmas

Hamaguchi, Satoshi [2012]
Osaka University
Citation: For seminal contributions to theory and simulation of strongly coupled plasmas, plamas interacting with solid particles and surfaces, and ion-temperature-gradient turbulence dynamics

Hermann, Mark C. [2012]
Sandia National Laboratories
Citation: For innovative technical advances and exceptional leadership in the areas of inertial confinement fusion target design and magnetically driven high-energy-density science

Intrator, Tom [2012]
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Citation: For novel experimental investigations of interrelated properties of magnetic flux ropes, magnetic reconnection, and turbulence in astrophysical, space, and fusion physics, and for seminal Alfven-wave current-drive experiments

Norreys, Peter [2012]
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
Citation: For major contributions to the understanding of energetic particle generation and transport in relativistic laser-plasma interactions, including innovative experiments relevant to fast ignition fusion concepts

Park, Hyeon K. [2012]
Pohang Univ of Sci & Tech
Citation: For innovative development and implementation of advanced plasma diagnostics including imaging techniques, and for fundamental contributions to the understanding of MHD physics and turbulent transport in toroidal confinement systems

Redmer, Ronald [2012]
University of Rostock
Citation: For seminal contributions to transport theory in dense plasmas, for first-principles approaches to improving planetary models, and for pioneering work on the theory of Thomson scattering in warm dense matter

Schekochihin, Alexander A. [2012]
University of Oxford
Citation: For elucidating fundamental aspects of turbulence in magnetized plasma with application to magnetic field amplification, heating, and transport in astrophysical, space, and laboratory plasmas

Schroeder, Carl B. [2012]
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Citation: For significant theoretical contributions to the physics of intense laser-plasma interactions, with applications to plasma-based accelerators and light sources