Fall 2015 Newsletter


November 6 deadline March Meeting Abstracts. Your contributions will add to an exciting program for the Baltimore March meeting.

November 6 deadline Nomination for Frank J. Padden Jr. Award. Send nominations by email to Sanat Kumar (sk2794@columbia.edu) using the subject line "Padden_name of student".

January 8 calendar dayMarch Meeting - Early-bird Registration deadline Friday, January 8.
(late registration deadline Friday, February 12.)

February 13 calendar dayHotel Reservation deadline Saturday, February 13.

Prize Winners

Anna C. BalazsBalazs wins the 2016 Polymer Physics Prize

Anna Balazs (University of Pittsburgh) is cited “For theoretical insight into complex behavior of multi-component polymer systems.”

The Polymer Physics Prize has been endowed by a generous matching grant from the Dow Chemical Company, and contributions from LG Chemical Company and former Polymer Physics Prize winners.

Thomas H. Epps, IIIEpps wins the 2016 Dillon Medal

Thomas Epps (University of Delaware) is cited “For significant advancement in the control, characterization and understanding of polymer nanoscale structure and energetics.”

The Dillon Medal is sponsored by Elsevier, publisher of Polymer.


Candidates for Vice-Chair are:
Al Crosby (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
Darrin Pochan (University of Delaware)

Candidates for Member-at-Large are:
Marina Guenza (University of Oregon)
Lynn Loo (Princeton University)

Many thanks to the nominating committee (chaired by Ken Schweizer and comprising Timothy Lodge, Ali Dhionjwala, Shaw Ling Hsu and Mahesh Mahanthappa) for preparing this slate of candidates.

The election will begin shortly.

Abstract Submission for the APS March Meeting 2015

Gray Arrow Abstract Submission
Gray Arrow DPOLY Sorting Categories

Abstract submission for the APS March Meeting 2015 is now open. The next APS March Meeting will be held March 14-18, 2016 at the Baltimore Convention Center in Baltimore, MD.

Please submit your abstracts by Nov 6, 2015.

From the Desk of the Program Chair, Dvora Perahia

Along with our traditional exciting DPOLY program, this year will feature several events. On Monday DPOLY and GSOFT will run two symposia, underscoring the impact of Sir Sam Edwards’ work on polymer dynamics and on statistical physics of disordered systems. On Wednesday, in conjunction with FIAP’s Industry Day and DCOMP, several invited sessions encompassing challenges in transitioning “From Nano to Meso” in polymers and composites, will be presented. Correlation of Polymer Topology and Performance Materials will be highlighted through invited symposia along the week together with some of the contributing sessions on co-polymers, and composites. To submit abstracts to one of these contributed sessions please chose the appropriate category and in the comment section writes “From Polymer Topology to Performance Materials”.

Finally we are looking for volunteers to assist in sorting abstracts. The sorters meeting will take place on December 9 at the APS headquarters in College Park, MD. If you are interested, please email dpoly.p.chair@gmail.com. If you are interested in chairing a session at the March Meeting, please contact Dvora as well (dpoly.p.chair@gmail.com).

Padden nominations should be submitted by November 6 to Sanat Kumar (sk2794@columbia.edu) using the subject line "Padden_name of student". Candidates MUST submit their abstracts through the regular APS system, as well as sending it in with the application.

The Short Course this year is organized by Pinar Akcora on Polymer Nanocomposites.

Resources to help you attend the meetings
Short course scholarships are available. Please contact Pinar Akcora (pakcora@stevens.edu).

Need help getting a visa to the US?
See helpful info or a letter of invitation

Need childcare?

Upcoming Meeting of Interest

Colloidal, Macromolecular & Polyelectrolyte Solutions GRC, February 7-12, 2016, Ventura, CA; the registration deadline is January 10.

DPOLY Membership Benefits

Gray Arrow Membership Benefits

Thank you for your participation in the division. As you refer others to our division, please let them know about the value of membership.

This DPOLY newsletter was prepared by: Steve Hudson, Secretary-Treasurer; Chinedum Osuji, Publicity Committee Chair; Stephen Cheng, Executive Committee Chair; and other members of the DPOLY Executive Committee.