Winter 2015 Newsletter


February 6 calendar dateHotel reservation deadline for March Meeting in San Antonio is Friday, February 6.

February 14 deadlineScholarship application for Short Course. Due Saturday, February 14, 2015. Details below.

June 1 deadlineNominations for APS Fellow. Due Monday, June 1, 2015.
Description and instructions at the DPOLY Fellowship page

July 1 deadline Nomination for the Polymer Physics Prize. Due Wednesday, July 1, 2015. Description and instructions at the Polymer Physics Prize page

July 1 deadline Nomination for Dillon Medal. Due Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Description and instructions at the John H. Dillon Medal page

Short Course: Glasses, February 28 - March 1

Greg McKenna and Sindee Simon are leading this year’s well-subscribed DPOLY short course: “The glass transition in polymers, small molecule glass formers, and colloids: Recent advances in theory, experiment, and open challenges.”

  • A description and schedule are available on line at the DPOLY Short Couse on Glasses page
  • A limited number of scholarships are available for students and postdocs. The application deadline for full consideration is February 14.
    Please apply to Greg McKenna with Subject: DPOLY Short Course Support Request.
    These scholarships will be awarded against receipts after the meeting.

March Meeting in San Antonio, March 1-6

DPOLY reception, Sunday, 5:30 – 7:30 pm.
Please join us at the DPOLY reception in the Stetson Ballroom at the Hilton Palacio Del Rio (200 S. Alamo St.) adjacent to the convention center. The DPOLY reception celebrates Mark Ediger and Chinedum Osuji, winners of the Polymer Physics Prize and the Dillon Medal, respectively.

Full Program Monday through Friday.
The program committee (chaired by Thomas Epps, III) has organized excellent symposia. Thanks to all members for your abstracts and ideas.
The program booklet will be mailed to DPOLY members shortly and is available online:
March Meeting 2015 Program booklet format_pdf
DPOLY members from overseas may pick up their hard copy booklets at the membership table.

Student lunch with experts, Chinedum Osuji and Brent Neal. See details in the Program booklet.

DPOLY Awards Symposia, Tuesday. See details in the Program booklet.

DPOLY Business Meeting, Tuesday, 5:45 pm, room 214A.

NSF (Polymers, Soft Matter, MGI) information meeting, Tuesday, 6:45 pm, room 214A.

Joint Poster Session, Wednesday, 11:00 am – 2:00 pm in Exhibit Hall C. We are pleased to have a joint poster session with the GSOFT, DBIO and GSNP.

Industry Day (Wednesday) at the APS March Meeting will focus on the use of polymers in industry and the development of new advanced manufacturing methods, such as 3D-printing. Speakers include industry R&D leaders and senior scientists both academic and industrial labs such as Dow Chemical, IBM, DuPont, ExxonMobil, GE, Boeing, and more.

Also as part of Industry Day, order a 3D-miniature of yourself. Twindom: Be Your Own Action Figure
See details in the Program booklet.

Volunteers Needed

DPOLY Membership Table, Monday - Wednesday. If you can volunteer for a one or two hour time slot (8am -5pm) at the membership table, please send an email with your preferred date and time to Rich Vaia. Volunteers will sign up new DPOLY members and distribute program booklets to new and international members. It’s a great way to meet people!

Kumar and Osuji win DPOLY Election

Sanat Kumar was elected the new Vice Chair and Chinedum Osuji was elected the new Member at Large of the Executive Committee. We enthusiastically look forward to their service to the division. We also thank Ali Dhinojwala and Ryan Hayward for standing for election. (19.5% of DPOLY membership participated in the election. Thank you.)

UKPPG / DPOLY Polymer Lecture Exchange

To foster interactions between DPOLY and the Polymer Physics Group of the United Kingdom, the division jointly sponsors a lecture exchange in odd-numbered years to correspond with their bi-annual meeting. Dr Paola Carbone from the University of Manchester will represent UK PPG at the APS March Meeting in San Antonio, TX. Later this year DPOLY will be represented by Bryan Boudouris of Purdue University at the UK PPG meeting in Mancheter, UK in September 2015. Congratulations Bryan!

Edward J. Kramer (1939 - 2014)

The Division of Polymer Physics lost a pillar of our scientific community when Prof. Ed Kramer died in late December. Ed’s passion for excellence and polymer physics was contagious and he leaves behind generations of students and colleagues that have benefited immensely from his mentoring and scientific insights. Although he started his career studying superconductivity, Ed made outstanding contributions across polymer physics including mechanical properties, crazing, diffusion, interfaces, block copolymer thin films and polymer-nanoparticle interactions. Along with being a regular attendee of the March meeting (typically in the front of the room and quick to ask probing questions), Ed served DPOLY as Chair from 1990 to 1991. He was a Fellow of the APS and in 1985 received the Polymer Physics Prize along with Roger P. Kambour "For pioneering and outstanding contributions to the understanding of crazing in polymers." Beyond APS, Ed was highly decorated including being elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1989 and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2012. A longer obituary is available at the UC Santa Barbara Engineering page.

New Fellows

DPOLY welcomes the following new fellows:

  • Jean-Louis Barrat: For outstanding contributions to the theoretical understanding of structure and dynamics in polymeric liquids and glasses
  • Michael Bockstaller: For his fundamental contributions to the understanding of block polymer – nanoparticle composites leading to control of novel photonic and plasmonic properties.
  • Oleg Gang: For demonstrating and developing the principles of programmable self-assembly of polymer-based nanostructures and for elucidating the physical origin of their assembly behavior.
  • Valeriy Ginzburg: For his theoretical work in understanding structure and morphology of polymer-inorganic nanocomposites, multi-scale modeling of segmented polyurethanes, other contributions in polymer theory and modeling, and unequivocal advocacy of polymer physics in the industrial setting.
  • Rong-Ming Ho: For outstanding contributions to the understanding of novel nano structures and the fabrication of well-defined nano hybrid materials from self-assembly and templating of chiral block copolymers.
  • Marcus Muller: For outstanding Contributions to the Theoretical Understanding of Polymer Interfaces.
  • Atsushi Takahara: For developing new insights into the surface dynamics and glassy behavior of polymer thin films, development of charged side-chains polyelectrolyte brushes and polymer nanohybrids from aluminosilicate nanotubes.

This DPOLY newsletter was edited by Steve Hudson, Secretary-Treasurer, with contributions from Venkat Ganesan, Member-at-Large and Publicity Committee Chair; Amalie Frischknecht, Member-at-Large; Thomas Epps, III, 2015 Program Chair; Karen Winey, Past Chair; and Nitash Balsara, Executive Committee Chair.