Division of Polymer Physics

The Division of Polymer Physics, established in 1944, focuses on the physics of natural and synthetic macromolecular substances.

Gray arrow Benefits of Membership
Gray arrow Join DPOLY — First Year Free!

News & Announcements

Summer School: Active Matter and Non-equilibrium Statistical Physics
Gerhard Gompper, Cristina Marchetti, Julien Tailleur, and Julia Yeomans are organizing a 2018 Les Houches Summer School on "Active Matter and Non-equilibrium Statistical Physics."
Gray Arrow Course Information

Summer School on Methods and Applications of Small Angle Neutron Scattering and Reflectometry
will be held from June 19 - 23, 2018 at the NIST Center for Neutron Research.
Gray Arrow Course Information

DPOLY Winter 2018 Newsletter
The Winter 2018 Newsletter is now available.
Gray Arrow Read Newsletter

Student Funding Brochure pdf

Send Noteworthy News Tips to AIP!

Congratulations to Our Newest APS Fellows

Gray Arrow APS Fellows from DPOLY

Congratulations to New Prize & Award Recipients

2018 John H. Dillon Medal
Bradley D. Olsen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2018 Polymer Physics Prize
Juan J. de Pablo, University of Chicago

DPOLY Images

We solicit images from the APS DPOLY community in order to enhance the visual appearance of our website.  Please email your images (with appropriate citation/reference/acknowledgement) to Venkat Ganesan (venkat@che.utexas.edu).

Prize & Award Recipients

Juan de PabloPolymer Physics Prize:

Juan J. de Pablo, University of Chicago

"For his innovative models and algorithms for the simulation of macromolecular systems."



Bradley OlsenJohn H. Dillon Medal:

Bradley D. Olsen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

"For significantly expanding our understanding of the physics of polymers, including the self-assembly of block copolymers incorporating a fully folded protein, the influence of polymer shape on diffusion; for engineering novel gels; and for updating the theory of the modulus of a network."

Frank J. Padden, Jr. Award

Jelena Dinic photoJelena Dinic, University of Illinois at Chicago






Michael Hore photo
Michael Hore, Case Western Reserve U





Andrew ParnellAndrew Parnell, University of Sheffield