Call for Nominations for the 2018 Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award

The deadline for nominating candidates for the 2018 Beam Physics Award is September 16, 2017.

The APS DPB Thesis Award recognizes doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in beam physics and engineering. The annual award consists of $2,500 and a certificate to be presented at an awards ceremony at the Division of Physics of Beams Annual Meeting, and an additional allowance of up to $500 for travel to the meeting. The recipient will be invited to present the work as an invited talk in an appropriate session of the meeting.

Attracting and serving a diverse and inclusive membership worldwide is a primary goal for APS. In calling for nominations, we wish to remind you how important it is to give full consideration to women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States.

The 2018 Award will be presented during the 2018 IPAC’18 conference, April 29 – May 4, 2018 at the JW Marriott parq Vancouver in Vancouver, BC.

Please consider submitting an application for students who have recently completed their doctorate. For more information on this award, including nomination requirements, please check out the website.

Nominations should be submitted electronically to the Chair of the 2018 Selection Committee: Dr. Rui Li,

Committee Members:
Dr. Rui Li, Chair
TBD, Vice Chair
Vladimir Litvinenko (BNL), Past Chair
Heather Andrews (LANL)
Themis Mastoridis (CalPoly)
TBD (2017 awardee [TBD] supervisor)