Division of Nuclear Physics

The Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP) is comprised of scientists and educators who study fundamental problems related to the nature of matter. Nuclear scientists probe the properties of nuclei and nuclear matter and the interactions of their ultimate constituents — quarks and gluons. They also address interdisciplinary questions: the basis of fundamental symmetries in nature, the first moments of the universe, the origin of the elements, education, and the application of nuclei and nuclear techniques to meet societal needs including medical diagnoses and treatment, energy, advanced materials, and Homeland Security. DNP interests have significant overlap with other APS Divisions, Topical Groups and Forums.

Congratulations to Our Newest APS Fellows

Gray Arrow APS Fellows from DNP

Congratulations to New Prize & Award Recipients

2017 Dissertation Award in Nuclear Physics
Jonathan Loren Ouellet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2017 Hans A. Bethe Prize
Stuart L. Shapiro, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign

2017 Herman Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics
Joseph Carlson, Los Alamos National Laboratory

2017 Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics
Charles F. Perdrisat, College of William and Mary