Stuart Jay Freedman Award in Experimental Nuclear Physics

This award is presented annually to an outstanding early career experimentalist in nuclear physics. The award will consist of an $4,000, a certificate, a registration waiver, and an allowance for travel to the Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP) to give an invited prize talk and receive the award. 

About Stuart J. Freedman

Stuart J. Freedman was a distinguished experimental nuclear physicist, member of the National Academy of Sciences, and recipient of the Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics, and had a singular role in educating and mentoring graduate students and post-docs.

Stuart inspired students and post-docs in experimental nuclear physics through his accomplishments, his approach to science, and his commitment to the scientific development of those whom he mentored. A detailed account of his achievements can be found at the In Memoriam: Stuart Freedman, Renowned Nuclear Physicist page. Highlights include the first test of Bell’s inequality, carried out with John Clauser, demonstrating consistency with the predictions of quantum mechanics while ruling out those of hidden variable theories.

Deadline: Friday, May 1, 2020  

2020 Recipient:

Past Recipients: