59th Annual Meeting of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics Invited Talks

2006 Fluid Dynamics Prize (Otto Laporte Lecture)

Tom LundgrenSession C2.00001 Turbulent Asymptotics
Tom Lundgren
University of Minnesota

2006 Francois Frenkiel Award

L. MahadevanSession MA.00001 Soft Lubrication, Lift and Optimality (717KB pdf)

Jan M. Skotheim
Center for Studies in Physics and Biology, The Rockefeller University
L. Mahadevan (pictured)
Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University

2006 Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award

Eric LaugaSession: MB.0001 Slip, Swim, Mix, Pack: Fluid Mechanics at the Micron Scale (10.4 MB pdf)
Eric Lauga
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Invited Speakers

Nadine AubrySession JA.00001 Mixing in small scale flows (1.6MB pdf)
Nadine Aubry
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Dan HenningsonSession IB.00001 The use of global modes to understand transition and perform flow control (5.78MB pdf)
Dan Henningson
Mechanics KTH Sweden

Anette HosoiSession DA.00001 Optimizing Locomotion (5.83MB pdf)
Anette Hosoi
Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Roger KammSession NB.00001 Measurements and models of cytoskeletal rheology (5.18MB pdf)
Roger Kamm
Mechanical and Biological Engineering, MIT


T.N. KrishnamurthiSession NA.00001 Formulation and results from ensemble forecasting using Multimodels for Hurricanes, Global Weather and Seasonal Climate
T.N. Krishnamurthi
Department of Meterology, Florida State University

Detlef LohseSession IA.00001 Bubble Puzzles
Detlef Lohse
Physics of Fluids, University of Twente, The Netherlands


Donald RockwellSession DB.00001 Vortex Formation in Shallow Flows (16.4MB pdf)
Donald Rockwell
Lehigh University


D. Scott StewartSession JB.00001 Advanced modeling of detonation dynamics in energetic materials and explosive systems
D. Scott Stewart
Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign