Prizes & Awards

APS Honors in the area of Fluid Dynamics

Fluid Dynamics Prize

The Fluid Dynamics Prize recognizes and encourages outstanding achievement in fluid dynamics research. Recipients of this prize are honored at the annual meeting and present a lecture on their work.

Stanley Corrsin Award

To recognize and encourage a particularly influential contribution to fundamental fluid dynamics.

Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics

The Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award provides recognition to a young scientist who has performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of fluid dynamics.

Otto Laporte Award

In 2004, the Otto Laporte award was combined with the Fluid Dynamics Prize so that the Division of Fluid Dynamics would have a single major prize - the Fluid Dynamics Prize. The award had originally been established as a division lectureship to recognize outstanding contributions to fluid dynamics and to honor Otto Laporte.

Division of Fluid Dynamics Honors

François Frenkiel Award for Fluid Mechanics

The Division of Fluid Dynamics awards The Francois Frenkiel Award to young investigators in recognition of significant contributions to Fluid Mechanics that have also been published during the previous year in either Physical Review Fluids or Physics of Fluids.* “Young” will normally be defined as being under 40 years of age. More than one author may be involved, and one author may be a thesis advisor sharing the Award if he/she is also under 40. The selection of the winner is determined by the Frenkiel Award Committee and is presented each year at the DFD Annual Meeting in November. The annual award consists of $1,000 ($500 each for multiple authors), a certificate citing the accomplishment, and an allowance for registration (all authors) and travel (presenting author) to attend the annual meeting.

* In order to be considered, papers appearing in Physics of Fluids must have been submitted for review prior to January 31, 2016