January 2011

In This Issue

Important dates:

Child Care grants through APS Deadline:17 Jan 2011

APS March Meeting Registration deadline (lower fees): 21 Jan 2011

Nomination deadline for 2011 APS Fellowship through DCP: 01 Feb 2011

Dependent Child Care Award applications through DCP deadline: 17 Feb 2011

APS March Meeting Housing deadline: 18 Feb 2011

APS March Meeting Late Registration deadline (higher fees): 18 Feb 2011

Nomination deadline for 2012 Plyler Prize due: 01 Jul 2011

Graduate Student Travel Awards


In the fall, the DCP offered Graduate Student Travel Awards for DCP student members who present in a DCP-sponsored session. We are pleased to announce the 3 winners of the 2011 DCP GSTA competition:

  • Abhishek Kumar, Department of Physics, University of Massachisetts, Lowell
  • Vladimir A Goncharov, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Vanderbilt University
  • Jagannath Mondal, Department of Chemistry, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Please congratulate our GSTA winners when you see them at the meeting!

DCP Graduate Student Lunch with the Experts

Graduate students are invited to attend Graduate Student Lunch with the Experts at the APS March Meeting on Wednesday, March 23 from 1:00 PM to 2:30 PM at the Dallas Convention Center.

DCMP/DMP/DCOMP/DCP Fellows and Award Winners Reception at 2011 March Meeting in Dallas


At this year's APS March Meeting, the DCP will join with the DCOMP, DCMP, and DMP to recognize fellowship and award recipients from our divisions. The reception will be on Tuesday, March 22, from 5:30PM - 7:00PM in the Hyatt Hotel. Hope to see you all there to congratulate our award and fellowship winners!

DCP Business Meeting at the 2011 March Meeting in Dallas


7:00 PM in Reverchon A of the Hyatt Hotel.

All are welcome!

2010 APS Fellows and 2011 Fellowship Nominations:

The DCP is pleased to congratulate the newest APS fellows elected through the division.

We encourage the nomination for fellowship of deserving candidates.

Nominations for 2011 APS Fellowship to be considered by the DCP Fellowship Committee should be made before the deadline, which will be 1 February 2011.

Instructions for submitting a nomination for consideration next year are included on the APS web site.

DCP Elections for 2011-12 Officers

The DCP is pleased to announce the results of our divisional officer election:

Vice-chair (03/11-03/12): Jim Skinner
Member at large (03/11-03/14): David Jonas

Congratulations to our newest officers!

Upcoming Conferences of Possible Interest to DCP Membership

The Dynamics of Molecular Collisions
July 10-15, 2011, Snowbird, UT
David Nesbitt, Chair
Hua Guo, Vice-Chair

American Conference on Theoretical Chemistry
July 17 - 22, 2011, Telluride, CO
Peter Rossky, Chair
Jim Skinner, Vice-Chair

International Conference on Molecular Energy Transfer
Sept. 11-16, 2011, Oxford, U.K.
Mark Brouard, Chair