January 2008

In this Issue

Important Dates

Nomination deadline for 2008 APS Fellowship through DCP
February 8, 2008

APS March Meeting Late Registration deadline (higher fees)
APS March Meeting Housing deadline
February 11, 2008

Dependent Child Care Award applications through DCP deadline
February 17, 2008

Nomination deadline for 2009 Broida Prize
Nomination deadline for 2009 Langmuir Prize
Nomination deadline for 2009 Plyler Prize
July 1, 2008

Graduate Student Travel Awards

In the fall, the DCP offered Graduate Student Travel Awards for students who become members of the DCP and present in a DCP-sponsored session.  We are pleased to announce the 7 winners of the 2008 DCP GSTA competition:

  • Eli Rosen, Dept of Chemistry, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
  • Rohan Hule, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Delaware
  • Jordan Pio, Department of Chemistry, University of California-Irvine
  • Grace Y. Stokes, Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University 
  • Yafei Dai, Computational Materials Science Center, George Mason University
  • Johannes Hachmann, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Cornell University
  • Matthew J. Berg, Department of Physics, Kansas State University

Please congratulate our GSTA winners when you see them at the meeting!

Special Undergraduate Travel Program

This year, to encourage broad attendance at the New Orleans meeting in the aftermath of hurricane Katrina, the DCP has allocated funds to support travel of undergraduates to attend the APS meeting.

DCMP/DMP/DCOMP/DCP Fellows and Award Winners Reception at 2008 March Meeting New Orleans

At this year's APS March Meeting, the DCP will join with the DCOMP, DCMP, and DMP to recognize fellowship and award recipients from our divisions.  The reception will be on Tuesday, March 11, from 5:30PM - 7:00PM.  Mardi Gras Room D-E, Marriott Hotel.  Hope to see you all there, to congratulate our award and fellowship winners!

2007 APS Fellows and 2008 Fellowship Nominations

The DCP is pleased to congratulate the newest APS fellows elected through the division.

We encourage the nomination for fellowship of deserving candidates. Nominations for 2008 APS Fellowship to be considered by the DCP Fellowship Committee should be made before the deadline, which will be 8 February 2008. Instructions for submitting a nomination for consideration next year are included on the APS web site.

DCP Elections for 2008-09 Officers

The DCP is pleased to announce the results of our divisional officer election:

Member at large (03/08-02/11): Tamar Seideman
Vice-chair (03/08-02/09): Arthur Suits

Congratulations to our newest officers!

Upcoming Conferences of Possible Interest to DCP Membership

Atomic & Molecular Interactions
July 6-11, 2008
Colby-Sawyer College
New London, NH
Chair: Arthur G. Suits
Vice Chair: Todd J. Martinez

Gordon Research Conferences
Water and Aqueous Solutions

July 27 - Aug. 1, 2008
Holderness School
Plymouth, NH
Chair: Alan K. Soper
Vice Chairs: Victoria Buch & Pavel Jungwirth

Gordon Research Conferences
Vibrational Spectroscopy

August 3-8, 2008
Mount Holyoke College
South Hadley, MA
Chair: Philip J. Reid
Vice Chairs: Brooks H. Pate & Tianquan Lian

Gordon Research Conferences
Molecular and Ionic Clusters

Sept. 7-12, 2008
Centre Paul Langevin
Aussois, France.
Co-chairs: Dan Neumark & Jeremy Hutson