Division of Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics

The Division of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics (DAMOP) was founded in 1943, and was the first division of the American Physical Society. Its central focus is fundamental research on atoms, simple molecules, electrons and light, and their interactions. It plays an enabling role underlying many areas of science through the development of methods for the control and manipulation of atoms, molecules, charged particles and light, through precision measurements and calculations of their properties, and through the invention of new ways to generate light with specific properties. Students who graduate with a background in AMO physics acquire a broad range of knowledge and skills that enable them to contribute to many areas of science and technology.

Congratulations to Our Newest APS Fellows

Gray Arrow APS Fellows from DAMOP

Congratulations to New Prize & Award Recipients

2020 Deborah Jin Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in AMO Physics
Christie Chiu, Harvard University

2020 Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics
Klaas Bergmann, Technische Universitat Kaiserslautern

2019 Herbert P. Broida Prize
Marsha I. Lester, University of Pennsylvania

2019 I.I. Rabi Prize in Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics
Kang-Kuen Ni, Harvard University

2020 Norman F. Ramsey Prize in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, and in Precision Tests of Fundamental Laws and Symmetries
Philip H. Bucksbaum, Stanford University, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

2020 Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases
Michael Allan, University of Fribourg

News & Announcements

DAMOP Administrative Support
DAMOP has grown in terms of both its membership and the size of the annual meeting. To support the many volunteer-run DAMOP activities and to take on new initiatives, the DAMOP Executive Committee has decided to explore the possibility of seeking administrative support. We are seeking your help in identifying qualified candidates for a quarter-time administrative support contractor. Please follow the link below for details regarding the duties, qualifications, and application/nomination process.

Many thanks,

Jun Ye, DAMOP Chair
Thad Walker, Chair-Elect
Mette Gaarde, Vice Chair
John Bollinger, Past Chair
Charles Conover, Secretary/Treasurer

Gray arrow More Information

DAMOP 2020
DAMOP 2020 talks and posters are still available to be viewed.
Gray arrow More Information

Virtual AMO Seminar Series
The Virtual AMO Seminar series (VAMOS): a weekly AMO seminar with the goals of facilitating the communication of scientific results and enhancing community engagement.
Gray arrow More Information

DAMOP Honor Renamed Deborah Jin Award
DAMOP announces the renaming of its award for outstanding doctoral thesis research as the Deborah Jin Award. For more information, please visit the Deborah Jin Memorial Endowment.


Gray arrow From the Editors
Gray arrow Conferences and Special Events
Gray arrow Summer Schools, On-line Courses, Education
Gray arrow Funding


The Theoretical Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Community (TAMOC) is a forum for communication among AMO theorists and with the AMO community at large within and beyond the American Physical Society’s Division of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics.
Gray arrow More Information

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.