U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson Honored with George E. Brown Award for Science Leadership

By Anthony Pitagno

U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson with APS Head Public Outreach Rebecca Thompson
Photo by Ken Cole

APS Head of Public Outreach Rebecca Thompson (right) congratulates U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson on her George E. Brown Award for Science Leadership.

U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30) was recently honored with the 2014 George E. Brown Award for her vision and leadership in promoting public policies benefitting science and engineering. Johnson was honored by the Science-Engineering-Technology Working Group (SETWG) during a Capitol Hill ceremony on March 25.

In December 2010, Johnson was elected as the first African-American female ranking member of the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology.

From 2000 to 2002, she was the ranking member of the Subcommittee on Research and Science Education, where she emphasized education in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) disciplines. Throughout the 113th Congress, Johnson has led the way in supporting legislation to promote federal investments in research, innovation and STEM education programs at the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

About SETWG: SETWG organizes the annual Congressional Visits Day (CVD) — an event that brings hundreds of scientists, engineers, researchers, educators and technology executives to Washington to raise visibility and support for science, engineering and technology. For more information, go to the Congressional Visits Day website.

Anthony Pitagno is the advocacy director at the American Chemical Society.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

APS Headquarters, College Park, MD
One Physics Ellipse,
College Park, MD 20740

Staff Writer: Michael Lucibella
Art Director / Special Publications Manager: Kerry G. Johnson
Design and Production:
Nancy Bennett-Karasik

APS Washington, D.C. Office
529 14th St. NW,
Washington, DC 20045
Email: opa@aps.org
Phone: 202-662-8700
Fax: 202-662-8711

Director of Public Affairs: Michael Lubell
Associate Director of Public Affairs:
Francis Slakey
Senior Government Relations Specialist: Jodi Lieberman
Government Relations Specialist: Tyler Glembo
Press Secretary: Tawanda W. Johnson
Office Manager & POPA Studies Administration Specialist: Jeanette Russo
Policy Analyst: Mark Elsesser