Hultgren Announces House Science & National Labs Caucus

Randy Hultgren

Congressman Randy Hultgren

Congressman Randy Hultgren (IL-14) recently announced the formation of the House Science & National Labs Caucus. Hultgren is joined on the caucus by Congressmen Chaka Fattah (D-PA-02); Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM-03); and Alan Nunnelee (R-MS-01) all of whom will serve as co-chairs of the new group, with other members of the 113th Congress expected to join this year.

The new caucus will concentrate on reinforcing federal investment in research and the national laboratories, as well as raise awareness about the role laboratories play in long-term economic growth.

“These laboratories, much like the rest of the economy, deserve certainty from the government so they can continue their important work with confidence,” Hultgren said.

Congressman Hultgren, named earlier this year as the Science Coalition’s Champion of Science, also represents Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory in Batavia, Ill. Fermilab has long been at the cutting edge of physics research, but also serves the community through outreach, teaching, and technological advancement.

“National labs do much more than research,” Hultgren said. “Their reach can be seen in all sectors of the economy, and they help make America the most economically competitive country in the world.

“Congressmen Fattah, Lujan and Nunnelee understand the importance of this federal investment, and I am thankful for their leadership on this critically important issue.”

(Released by Congressman Hultgren’s Office on Dec. 7, 2012)

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

APS Headquarters, College Park, MD
One Physics Ellipse,
College Park, MD 20740

Editor: Alan Chodos
Staff Writer: Michael Lucibella

Art Director / Special Publications Manager: Kerry G. Johnson
Design and Production:
Nancy Bennett-Karasik

APS Washington, D.C. Office
529 14th St. NW,
Washington, DC 20045
Phone: 202-662-8700
Fax: 202-662-8711

Director of Public Affairs: Michael Lubell
Associate Director of Public Affairs:
Francis Slakey

Senior Government Relations Specialist: Jodi Lieberman
Government Relations Specialist: Tyler Glembo
Press Secretary: Tawanda W. Johnson
Office Manager & POPA Studies Administration Specialist: Jeanette Russo