Brookhaven Energy Light Source Project Generates 2,000 Jobs

By Jodi Lieberman

NSLS photo
Photo courtesy of Brookhaven National Laboratory

The most current version of the planned configuration of NSLS-II.

As a result of $150 million in funding from the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act (ARRA), the construction of the National Synchrotron Light Source II at Brookhaven National Laboratory is creating nearly 2,000 jobs. The project is expected to be completed in 2014 – a year ahead of schedule.

On Oct. 13, 2010, construction workers and Brookhaven and U.S. Department of Energy officials, invited guests and lab staff signed the final beam to close the ring building of the NSLS-II, which has been under construction since 2009.

NSLS-II will be the world’s most advanced synchrotron light source, providing new tools for science to enhance national and energy security and drive abundant, safe and clean energy technologies.  It will be 10,000 times brighter than the present NSLS at Brookhaven.

According to Brookhaven’s web site,  “…NSLS-II is creating more than 1,250 construction jobs and 450 scientific, engineering and support jobs, plus additional jobs at U.S. material suppliers and service providers.”

Construction workers from Local 137, Local 15D and Local 1281 in New York said funding for the site meant that they would receive steady paychecks and health insurance to take care of their families. 

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

APS Headquarters, College Park, MD
One Physics Ellipse,
College Park, MD 20740

Editor: Alan Chodos
Staff Writer: Michael Lucibella

Art Director / Special Publications Manager: Kerry G. Johnson
Design and Production:
Nancy Bennett-Karasik

APS Washington, D.C. Office
529 14th St. NW,
Washington, DC 20045
Phone: 202-662-8700
Fax: 202-662-8711

Director of Public Affairs: Michael Lubell
Associate Director of Public Affairs:
Francis Slakey
Legislative Correspondent: Brian Mosley
Office Manager:  Jeanette Russo
Press Secretary: Tawanda W. Johnson
Senior Government Relations Specialist: Jodi Lieberman
Advocacy Coordinator & Science Education Policy Specialist : Kristopher Larsen