House Speaker Nancy Pelosi Named Legislator of the Year


U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi

By Tawanda W. Johnson

APS recently celebrated U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi being named Legislator of the Year by the Task Force on American Innovation, a coalition of businesses, trade associations, scientific societies and higher education organizations that advocate for greater investments for basic research in the physical sciences and engineering. APS is a founding member of the Innovation Task Force.

“Nancy Pelosi was a champion of science research and education long before it was politically fashionable, and she left her indelible mark on the budgets Congress passed this year that contained unprecedented increases for science,” said Michael S. Lubell, Director of APS Public Affairs.

Craig Barrett, retired chairman of Intel Corp., presented the Speaker with the award during a reception at The Capitol Visitor Center. Attendees included U.S. Rep. Anna Eshoo (CA-14th);  U.S. Rep. Bart Gordon (TN-6th), chairman of the House Science & Technology Committee; and Norman Augustine, retired CEO and chairman of Lockheed Martin Corp. Barrett credited the Speaker with “artfully using her power, persuasion and pushiness” to achieve funding increases in the physical sciences and engineering. Specifically, he said Pelosi’s Innovation Agenda and support of the America COMPETES Bill and the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act, among other initiatives, led to funding increases for science.

A staunch supporter of science, the Speaker is known for stating that “science, science, science, science” is the solution to challenges facing the nation, said Barrett who added that “Pelosi, Pelosi, Pelosi, Pelosi” is the key to funding science.

“It is a great honor to receive this award in the presence of two champions of innovation and science funding in the Congress – Chairman Bart Gordon of the House Science and Technology Committee and Congresswoman Anna Eshoo of the Energy and Commerce Committee. We deeply appreciate the Task Force’s support for substantial new investments in science, which are critical to spurring innovation and jobs,” said Pelosi.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

APS Headquarters, College Park, MD
One Physics Ellipse,
College Park, MD 20740

Editor: Alan Chodos
Staff Writer: Michael Lucibella

Art Director / Special Publications Manager: Kerry G. Johnson
Design and Production:
Nancy Bennett-Karasik

APS Washington, D.C. Office
529 14th St. NW,
Washington, DC 20045
Phone: 202-662-8700
Fax: 202-662-8711

Director of Public Affairs: Michael Lubell
Associate Director of Public Affairs:
Francis Slakey
Legislative Correspondent: Brian Mosley
Office Manager:  Jeanette Russo
Press Secretary: Tawanda W. Johnson
Senior Government Relations Specialist: Jodi Lieberman
Advocacy Coordinator & Science Education Policy Specialist : Kristopher Larsen