House Appropriations Chairman Honored for Science, Engineering, Technology Leadership

By Chris McManes

DROe web use

U.S. Rep. David Obey

U.S. Rep. David Obey, chairman of the House Appropriations Committee, was recently honored for his leadership and commitment toward the United States remaining a global leader in science and innovation.

Obey received the George E. Brown Jr. Science, Engineering and Technology Leadership Award in a ceremony on Capitol Hill. IEEE-USA President Gordon Day presented the award on behalf of the Science, Engineering and Technology Work Group (SETWG)–a network of professional, scientific and engineering societies, higher education associations, companies, institutions of higher learning and trade associations. It is concerned about the future vitality of the U.S. science, mathematics and engineering enterprise.

Before the passage of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act in February, Obey spoke on the House floor about investing “in new portions of the economy through science, technology [and] new energy initiatives to try to modernize the economy and make it stronger.”

Obey supported these initiatives by providing funding for: competitive construction grants for research science buildings at colleges, universities and other research organizations; a reliable and efficient electricity delivery system – Smart Grid – that includes research & development, pilot projects and federal matching funds to modernize the electricity grid; National Science Foundation grants to put scientists to work and keep promising younger researchers in the pipeline; and investments in cutting-edge research infrastructure and instrumentation.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

APS Headquarters, College Park, MD
One Physics Ellipse,
College Park, MD 20740

Editor: Alan Chodos
Staff Writer: Michael Lucibella

Art Director / Special Publications Manager: Kerry G. Johnson
Design and Production:
Nancy Bennett-Karasik

APS Washington, D.C. Office
529 14th St. NW,
Washington, DC 20045
Phone: 202-662-8700
Fax: 202-662-8711

Director of Public Affairs: Michael Lubell
Associate Director of Public Affairs:
Francis Slakey
Legislative Correspondent: Brian Mosley
Office Manager:  Jeanette Russo
Press Secretary: Tawanda W. Johnson
Senior Government Relations Specialist: Jodi Lieberman
Advocacy Coordinator & Science Education Policy Specialist : Kristopher Larsen