APS News

November 2012 (Volume 21, Number 10)

Of Historical Significance

Pais Prize Winner lge Photo by Liz Dart Caron

Roger H. Stuewer of the University of Minnesota (center) is the 2013 recipient of the APS Abraham Pais Prize in History of Physics. In the photo he receives congratulations from two members of the selection committee, Physics Today editor emerita Gloria Lubkin (left), who is vice-Chair of the committee, and Gregory Good, Director of the Center for History of Physics of the American Institute of Physics, who is AIP's representative on the committee. The announcement of Stuewer's selection as the Prize recipient took place on September 24, at the 50th anniversary celebration of AIP's history programs, commemorating the dedication, in September of 1962, of the Niels Bohr Library and Archives by J. Robert Oppenheimer.