APS News

April 2012 (Volume 21, Number 4)

March Meeting Prize and Award Recipients

Prizes and Award Recipients 2012 Photo by David Fox

At the March Meeting in Boston, at a special ceremonial session, APS President Robert Byer presented 17 prizes and awards to a total of 20 individuals, and one additional prize was presented by the American Institute of Physics (AIP). In the front row in the photo are (l to r): Dimitri Basov, Laurens W. Molenkamp, Shoucheng Zhang, Charles L. Kane, Nadya Mason, Mulugeta Bekele, Richard Wilson, APS President Robert Byer, Matthew Tirrell, Kai-Ming Ho, David S. Hall, and Ian Affleck. In the back row are (l to r): William A. Eaton, Giovanni Jona-Lasinio, Stuart Parkin, Siyuan (Steven) Wang, Andreas Mandelis, Robert Cava, Justin Weber, Rachel Segalman, Eric Fullerton (AIP), and Thirumalai Venkatesan.