APS News

November 2011 (Volume 20, Number 10)

Apker Finalists Get Together

2011 Apker Finalists (large)

Photo by Jay Pasachoff

Each year APS gives two Apker Awards for outstanding research by an undergraduate, one to a student in a PhD-granting institution, and one to a student in an institution not granting the PhD in physics. This year there were seven finalists, who met in Washington in early September to be interviewed by the Apker selection committee. The finalists each received $2000, with an additional $1000 going to their departments. After the interviews, the committee chose the two recipients to be recommended for approval to the APS Executive Board.

In the photo, left to right, are: Neal Pisenti (Harvey Mudd College); Alex R. Howe (Ohio Wesleyan University); Ruffin Evans (rear, University of Virginia);  Bethany Jochim (front, Augustana College); Ken Van Tilburg (MIT); Yichen Shen (Johns Hopkins); and Djordje Radicevic (Princeton).