APS News

October 2009 (Volume 18, Number 9)

Apker Finalists Meet in Chicago

Apker group 1 weblge
Photo by Shelly Johnston

Every year the APS presents Apker Awards to undergraduate students for outstanding research. The selection committee first chooses a set of finalists from among the nominees, and then picks the recipients, usually two in number, after a day of interviews with the finalists. Each finalist receives $2000 and a certificate, and the finalists' institutions each receive $1000. The recipients, who are chosen by the APS Executive Board following the selection committee's recommendation, each receive an additional $5000, and their institutions $5000.

This year the finalists met on August 31 in downtown Chicago to be interviewed by the committee, which was chaired by former APS President Leo Kadanoff. Shown here at the reception following the day of interviews are (l to r) finalists Barry Bradlyn (MIT), Emma Wollman (Swarthmore), Bilin Zhuang (Wellesley), Kathryn Greenberg (Mount Holyoke) and Andrew Higginbotham (Harvey Mudd). The recipients will be announced on the web following the Executive Board vote, and also in a subsequent issue of APS News.

Nominations for the Award are encouraged from physics departments at both four-year colleges and universities, for undergraduates who have performed outstanding research in physics. Although nominations are now closed, they will re-open early next year, with a deadline in late June.
Gray arrow  Apker Award Information