APS News

December 2008 (Volume 17, Number 11)

SESAPS Presents Awards at Fall Meeting

Photo by David G. Haase

The Southeastern Section of the APS (SESAPS) held its 75th meeting in Raleigh, NC from October 29 to  November 1, jointly with the NC Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers, and with Zone 5 of the Society of Physics Students.

The meeting was hosted by the Department of Physics at North Carolina State University, and, with 314 registrants, was one of the best attended meetings in the history of the Section. SESAPS has for many years presented annual awards for education, research and service to physics in the Southeast.

Above is a photo of the 2008 award winners. Left to right: Michael Fowler (University of Virginia), the George B. Pegram Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Physics; Herbert A. Mook (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), the Jesse W. Beams Award for Research; Lawrence Cain (Davidson College), the Francis G. Slack Award for Excellence in Service to Physics in the Southeast.