APS News

October 2007 (Volume 16, Number 9)

Three APS Members Receive National Medal of Science

Three APS members are among the recipients of the 2005 and 2006 National Medal of Science, and one APS member was among the recipients of the 2006 National Medal of Technology. The awards honor the nation’s top scientists and innovators.

President Bush presented the medals in a ceremony at the White House on July 27.

APS members Daniel Kleppner of MIT and Lubert Stryer of Stanford University received the 2006 National Medal of Science.
Kleppner was cited for “his pioneering scientific studies of the interaction of atoms and light including Rydberg atoms, cavity quantum electrodynamics, quantum chaos; for developing techniques that opened the way to Bose-Einstein Condensation in a gas; and for lucid explanations of physics to non-specialists and exemplary service to the scientific community.”

Stryer was cited “for his elucidation of the biochemical basis of signal amplification in vision and pioneering the development of high density micro-arrays for genetic analysis. His influential biochemistry textbook has influenced and inspired millions of students.”

APS member Ralph A. Alpher, who passed away in August, was one of eight recipients of the 2005 National Medal of Science. Alpher was cited “for his unprecedented work in the areas of nucleosynthesis, for the prediction that universe expansion leaves behind background radiation, and for providing the model for the Big Bang theory.”

In addition, APS member Herwig W. Kogelnik of Bell Labs was among the five recipients of the 2006 National Medal of Technology. He was cited “for his pioneering contributions and leadership in the development of the technology of lasers, optoelectronics, integrated optics, and lightwave communication systems that have been instrumental in driving the growth of fiber optic transmission systems for our nation’s communications infrastructure.”

The National Science Foundation administers the National Medal of Science, which was established by Congress for the White House in 1959. The National Medal of Technology was established in 1980.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Contributing Editor: Jennifer Ouellette
Staff Writer: Ernie Tretkoff

October 2007 (Volume 16, Number 9)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
Curtis Callan Elected next APS Vice-President
US Olympiad Team Brings Back Medals and Memories from Iran
Three APS Members Receive National Medal of Science
Physics Bachelor's Degrees Show 40% Gain in Six Years
APS Selects Bowen as New Congressional Fellow
New Research Raises Old Questions About Electromagnetic Fields
Members in the Media
This Month in Physics History
Zero Gravity: The Lighter Side of Science
Focus on APS Topical Groups
Inside the Beltway: Primary Analysis
Feedback: Members Respond to Kadanoff
The Back Page
APS Web Writer Wins Award

Help us make APS.org better by telling us what's important to you. Take a short survey.