History of Conferences for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP)

Conferences for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP) are three-day regional conferences for undergraduate physics majors. The goal of CUWiP is to help undergraduate women continue in physics by providing them with an opportunity to experience a professional conference, information about graduate school and professions in physics, and access to other women in physics of all ages with whom they can share experiences, advice, and ideas.

The first CUWiP was held in 2006 at the University of Southern California. In 2011, APS was invited by CUWiP leaders to become the institutional home of CUWiP. APS provides organizational support, institutional memory, and a home for external financial support necessary to operate and continually improve CUWiP events. A complete listing of CUWiP sites is compiled below.


College of William and Mary
Michigan State University
Northwestern University
Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
The College of New Jersey
The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
University of California, Davis
University of California, Santa Barbara
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
University of Ottawa (Canada)
University of Washington, Seattle
Utah State University


Arizona State University
Cal Poly Pomona/Pomona College/Harvey Mudd College
Columbia University/Barnard College/City College of New York
George Washington University
Iowa State University
Rochester Institute of Technology
Queen’s University (Canada)
University of Kansas
University of North Florida
University of Oregon
University of Toledo
University of Virginia


Harvard University
McMaster University
Montana State University
Princeton University
Rice University
University of California Los Angeles
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Wisconsin
Virginia Tech
Wayne State University


Black Hills State University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Old Dominion University/Jefferson Lab
Ohio State University
Oregon State University
Syracuse University
University of California, San Diego
University of Texas, San Antonio/Southwest Research Institute
Wesleyan University


North Carolina Research Triangle
Purdue University
Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey
University of California, Santa Cruz
University of Michigan
University of Mississippi
University of Texas at Brownsville
Yale University


Florida State University
Louisiana State University
Pennsylvania State University
Stony Brook University/BNL
UC Berkeley
University of Chicago/ANL/FNAL
University of Maryland/NIST
University of Utah 


California Institute of Technology
Colorado School of Mines
Cornell University
University of Central Florida
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
University of Texas at Austin


Case Western Reserve University
Stanford University
Texas A&M University
University of Tennessee
University of Washington
Yale University


University of Southern California
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Purdue University
North Carolina State University
University of Oregon


University of California, Santa Cruz
Ohio State University
Duke University


University of Southern California
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Yale University


University of Southern California
University of Michigan
Yale University


University of Southern California


University of Southern California