Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics

This prize recognizes outstanding achievement in computational physics research. The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is awarded and at which the recipient will deliver the Rahman Lecture, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The prize will be presented annually.

Establishment & Support

This prize was established in 1992 with support through 2019 from IBM Corporation as a means of recognizing outstanding work and disseminating information in computational physics. APS along with DCOMP has recently launched a campaign to endow this Prize to be given in perpetuity. Your contribution towards this endeavor is greatly appreciated and may be made here.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person, but a prize may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations are active for three years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 29, 2020

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2021 Selection Committee Members: Sharon Glotzer (Chair), Antoine Georges ('20 Recipient), Thomas Blum, Annabella Selloni

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2020 Recipients

Antoine Georges
Flatiron Institute Center for Computational Quantum Physics, College de France

Gabriel Kotliar
Rutgers University, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Past Recipients

2019: Sharon C. Glotzer
2018: Hans Herrmann
2017: Sauro Succi
2016: Matthias Troyer
2015: John D. Joannopoulos
2014: Robert Swendsen
2013: James R. Chelikowsky
2012: Kai-Ming Ho
2011: James M. Stone
2010: Frans Pretorius
2009: A.P. Young
2008: Gary S. Grest
2007: Daan Frenkel
2006: David Vanderbilt
2005: Uzi Landman
2004: Farid Abraham
2003: Steven R. White
2002: David P. Landau
2001: Alex Zunger
2000: Michael John Creutz
1999: Michael L. Klein
1998: David Matthew Ceperley
1997: Donald H. Weingarten
1996: Steven Gwon Sheng Louie
1995: Roberto Car, Michele Parrinello
1994: John M. Dawson
1993: Kenneth G. Wilson