Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Or Hen
Massachusetts Institute of Technology


"For innovative, wide-ranging experiments that found important manifestations of nuclear neutron-proton short-range correlations."


Or Hen grew up in Moshav Even-Sapir, in the countryside of Jerusalem, Israel. He received his undergraduate degree in physics and computer engineering from the Hebrew University in 2009 and earned his Ph.D. in experimental physics at Tel-Aviv University in 2015. Before joining the MIT physics faculty in July 2017, Hen was an MIT Pappalardo Fellow in Physics from 2015-2017. Hen received various prizes and fellowships for his work to date, including the APS Stuart Jay Freedman Award in Experimental Nuclear Physics, IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Nuclear Physics, G. Altarelli award, Amar G. Bose Fellowship, Fermi Lab Intensity-Frontier fellowship, Rothschild Fellowship, MIT Pappalardo Fellowship, Jefferson Science Association and Israeli Physics Society thesis prizes, A. Pazi Award of the Israeli Council for Higher Education and the Y. Eisenberg Prize of Tel-Aviv University. He serves on the Jefferson-Lab Users Organization board of directors (2017 - 19), is a frequent participant in APS-CUWiP events and a member of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics, Topical Group on Hadronic Physics, and Topical Group on Few-Body Systems.

Selection Committee:

2019 Selection Committee Members: Artemis Spyrou (Chair), Hamish Robertson (Vice-Chair), Ania Kwiatkowski ('18 Recipient), Baha Balantekin, Ernst P. Sichtermann