Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Alexander A. Belavin
L.D. Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics


"For outstanding contributions to theoretical physics, and especially for the remarkable ideas that they introduced concerning conformal field theory and soluble models of statistical mechanics in two dimensions."


Alexander Belavin received his PhD in physics in 1970 from
the Institute Theoretical and Experimental Physics (ITEP) at Moscow
(under supervision of Prof.M.Terentiev and Prof.I.Kobzarev).

In 1970 he joined the Physics Department of the University of N.Novgorod.
Since 1976 Dr.Belavin has been at Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics.

His works relate to quantum field theory,integrable field theory and string theory.
In particular,important results are :
Instantons in QCD and Sigma models;
Elliptic solutions of Yang-Baxter equation;
Holomorphic property of string amplitudes(with V.Knizhnik);
2d Conformal field theory;
4p-correlation function in Minimal Liouville gravity (with Al.Zamolodchikov)

A.Belavin is a recipient of Humboldt Award (2005) and Pomeranchuk prize (2007)

Selection Committee:

Sidney Redner, Chair; S. Coppersmith; D. Friedan; B. Schmittmann; R. Singh