Francis M. Pipkin Award

To recognize exceptional research accomplishments by an early-career scientist in the interdisciplinary area of precision measurement and fundamental constants and encourages the wide dissemination of the research results. The award is given biennially every odd-number year and consists of $3,000 plus support of travel expenses to the APS Meeting at which the award is conferred.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 1997 by the Topical Group on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants in memory of Francis M. Pipkin, an enthusiastic and active member of the topical group whose wide interests in physics included experiments in condensed matter, nuclear, high energy, and atomic, molecular and optical physics, always with a special interest in precision measurements. The award has been endowed by contributions from family members, friends, students, and colleagues of Frank Pipkin.

Rules & Eligibility

Scientists who have held the Ph.D. degree for not more than 15 years prior to the nomination deadline are eligible for the award. The award recipient will be selected on the basis of outstanding work in the area of precision measurement and fundamental constants, as represented by his or her publications and three nominating letters. Any APS member, not a member of the award Selection Committee, may submit a nominations. Nominations are active for three years (two nomination cycles).

The nomination packet should include:

  1. A letter from the nominator citing the significance of the nominees accomplishments to the field of precision measurement and fundamental constants.
  2. Curriculum vitae for the nominee, including dates of academic degrees.
  3. Two letters seconding the nomination.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Wednesday, June 1, 2022

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter on not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2021 Selection Committee Members: Steve Lundeen (Chair), John Doyle (Vice-Chair), Tanya Zelevinsky ('19 recipient), Brad Plaster, John Wilkerson

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2021 Recipient

Andrew D. Ludlow
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Past Recipients

2019: Tanya Zelevinsky
2017: Jens Dilling
2015: Holger Mueller
2013: Randolf Pohl
2011: Michael Romalis
2009: Zheng-Tian Lu
2007: David DeMille
2005: Ronald L. Walsworth
2003: Eric A. Hessels
2001: Jens H. Gundlach
1999: Steven Keith Lamoreaux