W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in experimental particle physics. The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting at which the prize is to be awarded, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It is presented annually.

Establishment & Support

The prize was established in 1985 by friends of W. K. H. Panofsky and the Division of Particles and Fields, Stanford University and SLAC.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nations regardless of the geographical site at which the work was accomplished. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but the prize may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. The prize will normally be awarded for contributions made at an early stage of the recipient's career. Nominations are active for three years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 3, 2019

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2020 Selection Committee Members: Myron Campell (Chair), Mirjam Cvetic (Vice-Chair), Sheldon Stone ('19 Recipient), Eva Halkiadakis, Kam-Biu Luk

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2019 Recipient

Sheldon Leslie Stone
Syracuse University

Sheldon Stone

Past Recipients

2018: Lawrence R. Sulak
2017: Michel Della Negra
          Peter Jenni
          Tejinder Virdee
2016: David Hitlin
          Fumihiko Takasaki
          Jonathan Dorfan
          Stephen L Olsen
2015: Stanley G. Wojcicki
2014: Kam-Biu Luk
          Yifang Wang
2013: Bernard Sadoulet
          Blas Cabrera
2012: William B. Atwood
2011: A.J. Stewart Smith
          Douglas Bryman
          Laurence Littenberg
2010: Eugene W. Beier
2009: Aldo Menzione
          Luciano Ristori
2008: George Cassiday
          Pierre Sokolsky
2007: Bruce Winstein
          Heinrich Wahl
          Italo Mannelli
2006: John Jaros
          Nigel Lockyer
          William T. Ford
2005: Piermaria J. Oddone
2004: Arie Bodek
2003: William J. Willis
2002: Masatoshi Koshiba
          Takaaki Kajita
          Yoji Totsuka
2001: Paul Grannis
2000: Martin Breidenbach
1999: Edward H. Thorndike
1998: David Robert Nygren
1997: Henning Schröder
          Yuri Mikhailovich Zaitsev
1996: Gail G. Hanson
          Roy Frederick Schwitters
1995: Frank J. Sciulli
1994: Thomas J. Devlin, Lee G. Pondrom
1993: Robert B. Palmer, Nicholas P. Samios and Ralph P. Shutt
1992: Raymond Davis, Frederick Reines
1991: Gerson Goldhaber, Francois Pierre
1990: Michael S. Witherell
1989: Henry W. Kendall, Richard E. Taylor and Jerome I. Friedman
1988: Charles Y. Prescott