George E. Pake Prize

This prize recognizes outstanding work by physicists combining original research accomplishments with leadership in the management of research or development in industry. The prize consists of $10,000, a certificate, and registration waiver to attend the APS meeting at which the prize will be presented. It will be presented biennially in even-numbered years.

Establishment & Support

This prize was endowed in 1983 by the Xerox Corporation in recognition of the outstanding achievements of George E. Pake, as a research physicist and a director of industrial research.

Rules & Eligibility

This prize will be awarded to one individual for outstanding achievements in physics research combined with major success as a manager of research or development in industry. Nominations are active for three years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Wednesday, June 2, 2021

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2020 Selection Committee Members: 

Ichiro Takeuchi (Chair), Richard Boudreault ('18 Recipient), Mike Gordon, Matt Kim

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.