Nicholas Metropolis Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Work in Computational Physics

This award recognizes doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in computational physics and to encourage effective written and oral presentation of research results. The annual award consists of $2,500, a certificate, travel reimbursement up to $1,500, and a registration waiver to receive the award and give an invited talk at the APS March Meeting.

Establishment & Support

The award is supported by the Division of Computational Physics.

Rules & Eligibility

The Division of Computational Physics is pleased to announce its annual competition for the Nicholas Metropolis Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Work in Computational Physics. The deadline for nominations is June 30th. Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student (present or past) in any country for work performed as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nominees must have pass their thesis defense not more than 12 months before the nomination deadline. An individual can be nominated only once; however, an unsuccessful candidate will be carried over for one year.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, July 2, 2018

The nomination package should include:  

  1. APS Prizes and Awards Nomination Form (available via the online application interface, FluidReview)
  2. Recommendation letter from nominator (generally the thesis advisor)
  3. The thesis manuscript in PDF format
  4. A thesis summary accessible to a computational scientist without specific expertise in the field of the thesis. The summary should also certify the eligibility of the student and delineate in detail the contributions of the nominee, making comparisons with others.
  5. Two additional letters of support, at least one from outside the nominee’s institution
  6. Nominee’s CV
  7. Demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee)

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2019 Selection Committee Members: Aurora Clark (Chair), Bryan Clark, Jocelyn Read, Lea Santos, Andrea Cepellotti (’18 Recipient)

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.