Jonathan F. Reichert and Barbara Wolff-Reichert Award for Excellence in Advanced Laboratory Instruction

This award is to recognize and honor outstanding achievement in teaching, sustaining (for at least four years), and enhancing an advanced undergraduate laboratory course or courses at U.S. institutions. The course(s) should provide a selection of experiments in a range of the various interest areas of physics, for example atomic physics, electronics and optics.

The award consists of $5,000 plus travel expenses (up to $2,000) to attend an APS meeting at which the award is presented, and a certificate citing the achievement of the honoree. The honoree will be invited to present a lecture at that meeting. The award will be offered annually.

Establishment & Support

This award was established in 2012 and endowed with support from Jonathan F. Reichert and Barbara Wolff-Reichert.

Rules & Eligibility

The award will be given to an individual or a team of individuals who have taught, developed, and sustained an excellent advanced undergraduate physics laboratory course or courses for at least four years at an institution in the US. Some or all of this activity should have occurred within the five years prior to the nomination. The course(s) will lead upper-division students to experience a broad selection of experiments in the various interest areas of physics. This may include the development of experiment(s) reflecting current research.

Nominations are sought that confirm the fundamental role of the advanced laboratory course(s) in a physics department's curriculum, and which clearly show its impact on students and their subsequent careers in physics or applied physics. A successful nomination may also present evidence of the dissemination of the laboratory work to the broader physics community. Evidence of broad scope, excellence, and dissemination may include faculty/staff publications and workshops, student awards and publications, and other demonstrated student outcomes (as in preparation for undergraduate research, future employment, and acceptance and performance in graduate programs).

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 1, 2020

The nomination must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)
  • Evidence for the excellence and broad scope of the advanced laboratory course(s). For example: course syllabi, course materials, scanned photographs of the experimental set-ups, student reports or presentations, student/alumni evaluations
  • A biographical sketch or curriculum vitae
  • A list of the most important publications
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters not more than 2 pages each
  • Up to five reprints or preprints

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2020 Selection Committee Members: Natasha Grace Holmes (Chair), John Essick (Vice-Chair), Heather Lewandowski ('19 Recipient), Mark Beck, Ernest Behringer, Ben Dreyfus, Tim Gfroerer, Jeremiah Williams


Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.

2020 Recipient

Enrique Galvez
Colgate University

Enrique Galvez

Past Recipients

2019: Heather J. Lewandowski
2018: Kurt Wick
2017: Richard Peterson
2016: Van D. Bistrow
2015: Carl Akerlof
          Ramon Torres-Isea
2014: Gabriel C. Spalding