Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter or Materials Physics

This award recognizes doctoral thesis research of exceptional quality and importance in experimental condensed matter or experimental materials physics. The annual award consists of $3000, a certificate, travel reimbursement up to $1000, and a registration waiver to attend to give an invited talk and accept the award at APS March Meeting.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 2013 to honor the scientific and administrative contributions of Richard L. Greene to experimental condensed matter and materials physics. The Richard L. Greene Award is supported by a gift from his family.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for doctoral dissertations written in English and submitted to any college or university, worldwide. Nominees must have submitted their dissertations after January 1, two years prior to the award year. For example, if submitting a nomination for the award to be presented in 2019, the nominee must have submitted their dissertation after January 1, 2017. Nominations may be considered for up to two consecutive review cycles if they continue to meet this criteria.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, August 30, 2019

Nominations must be submitted to the Award Selection Committee prior to the deadline for the nominations. The deadline for nominations is typically September 1st of the year preceding the March Meeting where the award is presented. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged. This award will be based on the dissertation itself and not the subsequent work.

The nomination packet consists of the following materials:

  1. APS Prizes and Awards nomination form (nominee’s contact information, thesis date)
  2. A copy of the Ph.D. thesis written in English
  3. A letter from the thesis advisor explaining the rationale for the nomination
  4. Two letters of support with at least one being from another institution
  5. Demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee)

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2020 Selection Committee: Richard Greene (Chair), David Campbell, Vesna Mitrović, Ni Ni, Kyle Shen

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2019 Recipients

Edbert Jarvis Sie
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Uri Vool
Harvard University

Past Recipients

2018: Claire Donnelly
          M. A. Mueed
2017: Deep Jariwala
          Liang Wu
2016: Alexander Steppke
          Susanne Baumann
2015: Matthew D. Reed
          Moureen C. Kemei