Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases

The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. An allowance will be provided for travel expenses of the recipient to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is bestowed. As a result of generosity from Intel Corporation, Lam Research, and Micron Technology, Inc. APS will now award the Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases on an annual basis.

Establishment & Support

The prize was established in 1989 by contributions from American Telephone and Telegraph, General Electric, General Telephone and Electronics, International Business Machines, and Xerox Corporations in recognition of the outstanding contributions of Will Allis to the study of ionized gases.

Rules & Eligibility

The Allis Prize is given for outstanding contributions to understanding the physics of partially ionized plasmas and gases. Nominations are open to scientists of all nations regardless of the geographical location at which the work was done or the scientific society affiliations of the nominee. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but the prize may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations are active for two nomination cycles pending recertification by the nominator.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Thursday, June 1, 2023

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

in addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2023 Selection Committee Members: Christopher Fontes (Chair), Toshiake Makabe ('22 Recipient), Timothy Gay, Deborah O'Connell, Earl Scime, Lou DiMauro

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2024 Recipient

Vincent M. Donnelly
William A. Brookshire Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Houston

Past Recipients

2022: Toshiaki Makabe
2020: Michael Allan
2018: Leanne Pitchford
2016: Klaus Bartschat
2014: David B. Graves
2012: Philip G. Burke
2010: Mark J. Kushner
2008: Kenneth Kulander
2006: Michael A. Lieberman
2004: John W. McConkey
2002: Alan Garscadden
2000: John Francis Waymouth
1998: M. Raymond Flannery
1996: Chun Chia Lin
1994: Eldon E. Ferguson
1992: James E. Lawler
1990: Arthur V. Phelps