APS Fellow Archive

The APS Fellow Archive contains records of many APS Fellows from 1921 to the present. Please note some Fellows may not be displayed or may display with limited information.

The archive is a historical record and is not updated to reflect current information. All institutional affiliations reflect the Fellows’ affiliations at the time of election to APS Fellowship.

For a current listing of Fellows who are active members, or to find Fellows currently affiliated with your institution, please use the APS Member Directory. For questions about the archive or to inquire about locating a record, please contact APS Honors Staff at honors@aps.org.

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Filter by Year:
Filter by Nominating Unit:
Filter by Institution:

Emilio Artacho [2021]
Nanogune, Ikerbasque (Spain) and U Cambridge (UK)
Citation: For developing the linear scaling SIESTA method, based on density-functional theory, which opened the path to study large condensed matter systems with affordable computational cost, and for pioneering work on developing and applying methods to study energy dissipation of swift ions in solids.
Nominated by: DCOMP

Patrick Charbonneau [2021]
Duke University
Citation: For seminal contributions to the understanding of glassy materials, in particular the elucidation of the Gardner Transition and the use of dimensionality in computer simulation as a means to uncover universal features of the dynamics of supercooled liquids and glasses.
Nominated by: DCOMP

Aurora E. Clark [2021]
Washington State University
Citation: For developing innovative integrated methods from graph theory, topology, and geometry, to advance the study of complex solutions and their interfaces using molecular simulation.
Nominated by: DCOMP

Helmut G. Katzgraber [2021]
Amazon Web Services
Citation: For seminal contributions to the development and application of computational methods for problems in statistical physics, especially spin glasses, for fundamental contributions to quantum computing, and forleadership in applying physics-inspired optimization methods in industry.
Nominated by: DCOMP

Kristin A. Persson [2021]
University of California, Berkeley
Citation: For leadership and vision in the field of data-driven materials design, and for pioneering work on the Materials Project.
Nominated by: DCOMP

Hongjun Xiang [2021]
Fudan University
Citation: For elucidating microscopic mechanisms in novel magnets, ferroelectrics, and multiferroics, and for developing new theoretical models and computational methods to study these materials.
Nominated by: DCOMP