APS Fellow Archive

The APS Fellow Archive contains records of many APS Fellows from 1921 to the present. Please note some Fellows may not be displayed or may display with limited information.

The archive is a historical record and is not updated to reflect current information. All institutional affiliations reflect the Fellows’ affiliations at the time of election to APS Fellowship.

For a current listing of Fellows who are active members, or to find Fellows currently affiliated with your institution, please use the APS Member Directory. For questions about the archive or to inquire about locating a record, please contact APS Honors Staff at honors@aps.org.

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Filter by Year:
Filter by Nominating Unit:
Filter by Institution:

Adrian Bachtold [2017]
The Institute of Photonic Sciences
Citation: For groundbreaking experiments on quantum electron transport and vibrational dynamics of carbon nanotubes and the development of highly sensitive techniques for nanomechanical mass and force measurements.
Nominated by: DCMP

Alexander L Chernyshev [2017]
University of California, Irvine
Citation: For theoretical studies of the dynamical and transport properties of quantum magnets, and for studies of the properties of holes and stripes in lightly doped antiferromagnets.
Nominated by: DCMP

Rafael M. Fernandes [2017]
University of Minnesota
Citation: For pioneering works on nematic order and nematic fluctuations in iron-based superconductors and other strongly correlated materials.
Nominated by: DCMP

Francisco Guinea [2017]
IMDEA Nanoscience, Madrid (Spain)
Citation: For pioneering theoretical research on the novel properties of graphene.
Nominated by: DCMP

Victor Gurarie [2017]
University of Colorado, Boulder
Citation: For contributions to the theories of topological phases, disordered systems, turbulence, and logarithmic operators in conformal field theory.
Nominated by: DCMP

Igor Herbut [2017]
Simon Fraser University
Citation: For contributions to the theory of Dirac fermions in strongly correlated electron systems, including the prediction of an antiferromagnetic ground state for graphene in a strong magnetic field.
Nominated by: DCMP

Michael A Hermele [2017]
University of Colorado, Boulder
Citation: For seminal contributions to the theory of quantum spin liquids and topological quantum matter.
Nominated by: DCMP

Kee Hoon Kim [2017]
Seoul National University
Citation: For materials discoveries, and understanding the underlying physics thereof, in the fields of multiferroics (record high magnetoelectric coupling), transparent high mobility oxides for device applications, iron based superconductors, and high magnetic field quantum materials (including URu2Si2).
Nominated by: DCMP

Maxim Mostovoy [2017]
University of Groningen
Citation: For seminal contributions to the understanding of ferroelectric magnets as well as topological defects in multiferroics.
Nominated by: DCMP

Eduardo R Mucciolo [2017]
University of Central Florida
Citation: For sustained contributions to understanding electronic transport in low-dimensional systems, including spin-pumping in quantum dots, disorder effects in graphene and Kondo systems, Berry phase in single-molecule magnets, and correlated noise attacks on quantum error correction.
Nominated by: DCMP

Shuichi Murakami [2017]
Tokyo Institute of Technology
Citation: For pioneering work in the theory of spin Hall effect, topological insulators, and topological semimetals, including the prediction of topological materials.
Nominated by: DCMP

Yuval Oreg [2017]
Weizmann Institute of Science
Citation: For his many contributions to the science of electronic properties of nanoscale systems, including proposals for the realization of localized Majorana modes in superconductor nanowires with schemes to perform topological manipulations using these wires, and for the realization of two-channel Kondo effect.
Nominated by: DCMP

Gerardo Ortiz [2017]
Indiana University
Citation: For wide ranging contributions to theoretical and computational many-body quantum physics including quantum simulation methods, exact methods for quantum lattice models, superconductivity, and entanglement.
Nominated by: DCMP

Johnpierre Paglione [2017]
University of Maryland
Citation: For experimental contributions to the understanding of strongly correlated and topological electronic materials through the synthesis and investigation of heavy fermion compounds, unconventional superconductors, and topological materials.
Nominated by: DCMP

Dmitry Reznik [2017]
University of Colorado, Boulder
Citation: For important contributions to the understanding of electron-lattice interactions in correlated electron systems; in particular, investigations of anomalous phonons in copper oxide superconductors, direct observation of dynamic charge stripe spectra, and insights into charge density wave formation.
Nominated by: DCMP

Takasada Shibauchi [2017]
University of Tokyo
Citation: For pioneering measurements of the thermodynamic and transport properties of iron-based superconductors, playing a pivotal role in the development of the overall understanding of these systems.
Nominated by: DCMP

Hermann Suderow [2017]
Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
Citation: For groundbreaking contributions to the development of dilution refrigerator scanning tunneling microscopy, and for leading its application to high resolution studies of electronic properties in two-gap, magnetic, and charge-ordered superconductors, and to vortex physics.
Nominated by: DCMP

Stuart A Trugman [2017]
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Citation: For outstanding and original contributions to polaron physics, quantum Hall effect, far from equilibrium phenomena, disorder, and superconductivity.
Nominated by: DCMP

Ziqiang Wang [2017]
Boston College
Citation: For contributions to the understanding of strongly correlated electron systems, particularly the role of local disorder due to doping; and for successful collaboration with experimental groups to apply his ideas to novel materials including transition metal oxides, pnictides, and chalcogenides.
Nominated by: DCMP

Steffen Wirth [2017]
Max Planck Institute
Citation: For his seminal contributions to our understanding of strongly correlated electron systems, especially at reduced length scales, and including the Kondo effect and magnetic interactions.
Nominated by: DCMP

Lilia M Woods [2017]
University of South Florida
Citation: For her seminal contributions to the theory of fluctuation-induced and thermoelectric phenomena in condensed matter physics.
Nominated by: DCMP

Han Woong Yeom [2017]
Pohang University of Science and Technology
Citation: For contributions to semiconductor surface physics and the electronic properties of epitaxial monolayer materials; and for the discovery of metal-insulator transitions in self-assembled atomic wires on silicon surfaces, a new class of quasi-1D charge-density-wave systems.
Nominated by: DCMP