Program and Speaker Notes

Graduate Education in Physics: Which Way Forward? Conference

Education Conference 2008

Graduate Education Conference 2008
Program and Speaker Notes
Attendees and Abstracts

Conference topics included the graduate curriculum, preparation for non-academic careers, communication skills and professional development, TA training, ethics, comprehensive exam, departmental climate, and advising. This program was supported by the  National Science Foundation under Award No. PHY-0701352.

For information regarding the program, please contact Janet Tate


Thursday, January 31 (Marriott Greenbelt Hotel)
5:30 - 7:00 pm Registration
7:00 -10:00 pm Dinner and keynote address (Poster session following dinner)
Renee Diehl, Penn State University, APS/AAPT Task Force on Graduate Education
Friday, February 1 (American Center for Physics)
7:15 - 8:00 am Breakfast
8:00 - 9:00 am Plenary Addresses
Michael Neuschatz, American Institute of Physics, Statistical Research Division

Ken Heller, University of Minnesota, Past AAPT President (2006)
9:00 -10:15 am Panel Session 1: What's wrong (or right) with the status quo in graduate education?
Robert Pelcovits, Brown University
Thomas Greytak, MIT
10:15 -10:45 am Break
10:45 -12:00 pm Breakout Sessions (parallel)
Recruiting, Retention and Funding
Keivan Stassun, Vanderbilt and Fisk Universities

Does the Undergraduate Curriculum Prepare for Graduate School?
Charlie Holbrow, Colgate University

Mentoring and Career Advising
Steve Carlip, University of California Davis
12:00 - 1:00 pm Lunch
1:00 - 2:15 pm Panel Session 2: Preparation for Non-Academic Careers
Shirley Chiang, University of California Davis
Bijoy Chatterjee, National Semiconductor
Venky Venkatesan, Neocera
2:15 -2:45 pm Break
2:45 - 4:00 pm Breakout Sessions (parallel)
Interdisciplinary Courses
Randall Kamien, University of Pennsylvania
Naomi Halas, Rice University

Communication Skills, Professional Development
Sherry Yennello, Texas A&M University

Internships, GK-12 Programs
Edward van Keuren, Georgetown University
4:00 - 4:15 pm
4:15 - 5:30 pm Report and Wrap up
5:30 - 6:30 pm
Light reception
6:30 - 7:30 pm Dinner
7:30 - 9:30 pm Panel Discussion and Continued Poster Session: Where to Next?
Judy Franz, American Physical Society
Michael Thoennessen, AAPT, Michigan State University
Michael Neuschatz, American Institute of Physics Statistical Research Division
Myles Boylan, Division of Graduate Education, National Science Foundation
Saturday, February 2 (American Center for Physics)
7:15 – 8:00 am Breakfast
8:00 - 9:15 am Panel Session 3
Climate and Diversity
Margaret Murnane, University of Colorado Boulder
Vincent Rodgers, University of Iowa
9:15 -9:45 am Break
9:45 -11:00 am Breakout Sessions (parallel)
TA Training
Ken Heller, University of Minnesota

Ethics Awareness
Marshall Thomsen, Eastern Michigan University

Comprehensive Exam, Time to Degree
Hermann Verlinde, Princeton University
 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Report and wrap up
12:30 - 1:30 pm Lunch
1:30 pm

Conference Organization

Organizing Committee:
  • Janet Tate, Oregon State University, APS Committee on Education
  • Theodore Hodapp, Director of Education and Diversity, American Physical Society
  • Chandralekha Singh, University of Pittsburgh, APS Committee on Education
  • Michael Thoennessen, Michigan State University, AAPT Committee on Graduate Education in Physics
APS Coordinator:
  • Sue Otwell, APS Education Programs Administrator
Advisory Committee
  • Renee Diehl, Professor of Physics, Penn State University; Member of the Joint APS-AAPT Task Force on Graduate Education in Physics
  • Steven Girvin, Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics & Applied Physics; former Director of Graduate Studies, Yale University
  • Kenneth Heller, Past President (2006), American Association of Physics Teachers; Professor of Physics, University of Minnesota
  • Theodore Hodapp, Director of Education and Diversity, American Physical Society; Professor of Physics, Hamline University.
  • John Markert, Professor and Chair of Physics, University of Texas, Austin
  • Margaret Murnane, Professor & Assoc. Chair of Graduate Studies of Physics, University of Colorado, Boulder; Fellow of JILA
  • Horst Stormer, Professor of Physics & Applied Physics, Columbia University, Nobel Laureate & former Director of the Physical Research Laboratory, Bell Laboratories.
American Association of Physics Teachers logoNSF LogoAmerican Physical Society logo