2013 Department Chairs Conference

May 30 - 31, 2013
The American Center for Physics
College Park, Maryland

The American Physical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers were pleased to jointly organize the 2013 Physics Department Chairs Conference. This conference is part of a series of conferences that have been organized biennially for the past three decades. Conferences are now organized annually. The conference was held jointly with the Distance Education and Online Learning in Physics Workshop held June 1-2, 2013.

Steering Committeedept-chairs
pictured, from left to right
Willie Rockward, Morehouse
Bob Hilborn, AAPT
Talat Rahman, Central Florida
Monica Plisch, APS
Chuhee Kwon, CSU Long Beach
Steve Whisnant, James Madison
Rafael Muller, Puerto Rico-Humacao
Ed Bertschinger, MIT

Meeting Presentations



  • Ann Austin (Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning)

Plenary - Rethinking the Physics Major: Curriculum, Goals, Assessment

Plenary - Trends in Graduate Education

Breakout I

Breakout II

Plenary - Department Climate