Detlef Lohse Wins 2017 Fluid Dynamics Prize

COLLEGE PARK, MD, July 14, 2017 — Detlef Lohse of the University of Twente has won the American Physical Society’s 2017 Fluid Dynamics Prize. The annual prize was established to recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in fluid dynamics research. The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for registration, and travel to the 2017 APS Division of Fluid Dynamics meeting that will take place November 19-21 in Denver, Colorado.

The Fluid Dynamics Prize citation honors Lohse for "profound and wide-ranging contributions to our understanding of fluid turbulence, multiphase flow, and granular flows; for outstanding contributions to the teaching and training of future fluid dynamicists; and for long-standing service to the international fluid dynamics community."

The prize was established in 1979 with support from the Office of Naval Research. In 2004, the Otto Laporte Award was combined with the Fluid Dynamics Prize so that the Division of Fluid Dynamics would have a single major prize — the Fluid Dynamics Prize. The prize is now supported by the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics, friends of Otto Laporte, and the American Institute of Physics journal Physics of Fluids.

Detlef Lohse studied physics at the universities of Kiel and Bonn in Germany. He received his Ph.D. at the University of Marburg in 1992 and then did his postdoctoral work at the University of Chicago. After his habilitation at Marburg in 1997, Lohse went on to chair the Physics of Fluids group at the University of Twente in the Netherlands. Since 2015 he has been a member of both the Max Planck Society and the Max Planck Institute. In 2017, he was named an honorary professor at Tsinghua University in Beijing. Lohse’s present research interests include turbulence and multiphase flow, micro- and nanofluidics (bubbles, drops, inkjet printing, wetting), and granular and biomedical flow. He uses both fundamental and applied science in his work, and combines experimental, theoretical, and numerical methods. Lohse is the editor of the Journal of Fluid Mechanics, and the Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics, among others journals. He serves on the American Physical Society’s Division of Fluid Dynamics executive board as member-at-large, and in 2017, became a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He has also been a member of the Dutch Academy of Sciences since 2005, the German Academy of Sciences since 2002, and an APS fellow since 2002. Lohse is the recipient of several scientific prizes, including the 2005 Spinoza Prize, the 2009 Simon Stevin Meester Prize, the 2011 Physica Prize of the Dutch Physics Society, the 2012 AkzoNobel Science Award, the 2012 George K. Batchelor Prize, and advanced grants from the European Research Council in 2010 and 2017. In 2010, Lohse was knighted as a Ridder in de Orde van de Nederlandse Leeuw.

Contact: James Riordon, APS,, (301) 209-3238

APS Press Releases

APS issues press releases on research news, Society activities, and other physics tips.

View Archive

APS Media Contacts

General Media Inquiries

Using the APS Logo

Logo Usage Guidelines

About APS

The American Physical Society is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS represents more than 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry in the United States and throughout the world.