APS Annual Leadership Meeting

Thursday, February 4 & Saturday, February 6, 2021
All times Eastern Standard Time (GMT -5)

Register Now

Online Anywhere

The APS Annual Leadership Meeting will feature talks by prominent science leaders, including APS CEO Jonathan Bagger, 2021 APS President Jim Gates, and more. APS Members will be able to register for free. Be sure to check back for registration information!

Thursday, February 4

11:30 a.m. Opening Address
Jonathan Bagger, APS CEO
Sylvester James Gates, Jr., APS President
12:00 Noon Thriving physics departments: Proactive steps to take in difficult economic times
Panel and Interactive Discussion Session
Frances Hellman, APS President Elect
Ted Hodapp, APS Director of Project Development
2:00 p.m. Break
2:30 p.m. Effecting Change: Individual Actions and Leadership
Interactive Webinar
Ed Bertschinger, TEAM-UP & APS-IDEA
Nadya Mason, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
4:30 p.m. Break
5:00 p.m. APS Medal & Prize Ceremony
Documentary and Awards Ceremony
6:00 p.m. Adjourn


Saturday, February 6

12:00 Noon Communicating Science to Nonscientists in the Post-Election & Post-Pandemic World
Webinar and Panel Discussion
Hosted by: Kip Thorne, California Institute of Technology
1:15 p.m Break
1:30 p.m. Physics Slam
Rapid fire talks on exciting physics research from student and early career physicists
Chair: Roger Falcone, 2020 Leroy Apker Award Selection Committee Chair
2:30 p.m. Break
3:00 p.m. Federal Policies to Strengthen Science in Service to the Nation
Panel Discussion
5:00 p.m. Adjourn