APS Programs rely in great part on donations from generous individuals like you. In addition to supporting programs, your donations can support the following prizes, awards, and grants.

Millee Dresselhaus Fund for Science and Society
The Millie Dresselhaus Fund aims to honor the remarkable scientific career and inspiring community legacy of Mildred S. Dresselhaus.

Irwin Oppenheim Award Endowment Campaign
The Irwin Oppenheim Award was established in 2017 to honor the memory and celebrate the legacy of the founding editor of Physical Review E (PRE) by recognizing outstanding contributions to physics by early career scientists who publish in PRE.

Leo P. Kadanoff Prize
Conceived and proposed by the Group on Statistical and Nonlinear Physics (GSNP), the Prize will honor the memory and celebrate the remarkable legacy of Leo Kadanoff. It will recognize a scientist or scientists whose work (theoretical, experimental or computational) has opened new vistas for statistical and/or nonlinear physics.

Stuart Jay Freedman Award in Experimental Nuclear Physics
Dr. Stuart Jay Freedman, a distinguished experimental nuclear physicist, had a singular role in educating and mentoring graduate students and postdocs. The American Physical Society’s Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP) is pleased to establish an award in his honor to recognize Dr. Freedman’s legacy as a mentor to early career physicists.

Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research (DPP) 
The award aims to recognize an individual researcher who has made outstanding contributions (theoretical, experimental, computational, or technical) in plasma physics early in their career.

DGRAV Student Travel Grants for APS April Meeting
The APS Division of Gravitational Physics (DGRAV) is raising funds to endow the DGRAV Student Travel Grants. First awarded in 1999, these grants provide needed travel support to allow DGRAV student members to present their work at the APS April Meeting.

Justin Jankunas Doctoral Dissertation Award in Chemical Physics (DCP)
This award is presented annually for the best doctoral dissertation in any area of chemical physics.

Harry Lustig Award
Established in 2015, the annual award honors Harry Lustig and recognizes outstanding graduate student research performed at a Four Corners institution.

Excellence in Physics Education Award (FEd)
This award aims to recognize and honor a team or group of individuals (such as a collaboration) or, exceptionally, a single individual, who have exhibited a sustained commitment to excellence in physics education.

Past Campaigns

Thank you to our donors who made the following campaigns a success.

Gray Arrow View Past Campaigns