Excellence in Physics Education Award

Help Endow the Excellence in Physics Education Award

The Excellence in Physics Education Award was established in 2007 by the APS Forum on Education. It is usually presented to a team or group of individuals who have exhibited a sustained commitment to excellence in physics education, but on exceptional occasions it is awarded to a single individual. The award consists of:

  • A $5000 monetary award;
  • A certificate citing the achievements of the group or individual;
  • A travel allowance for up to three people to attend and speak at the APS April Meeting where the award is presented.

Ten years ago, sufficient funds were raised to establish the award. Now, for the 10th anniversary in 2017, the goal of the Forum on Education is to fully endow it.

Please join in raising an additional $65,000 to fully endow the Award. The Forum on Education will generously match each gift up to a total of $15,000. Help APS continue its recognition of excellence and innovation in physics education.

Excellence in Physics Education bar graph with match

Giving by Mail

If you prefer to contribute by mail, please make your check payable to the American Physical Society and note "Excellence Award" in the memo. Mail your gift to Irene I. Lukoff, Director of Development, One Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740. For further information about giving, visit Giving Options.

About the Excellence in Physics Education Award

Howard Matis"Physicists are traditionally rewarded by publishing in professional journals. Those who direct some of their efforts so that the public can be informed about the latest discoveries frequently do not get as much recognition. Thus I was so thrilled when the American Physical Society presented the Excellence in Physics Education Award to the Contemporary Physics Education Project. At the award ceremony, I was treated as an equal to the giants of our field. Through this award, I felt that my efforts to tell the world of the amazing knowledge that has been unearthed by physicists have been wonderfully rewarded. Furthermore, by having a continuing award, I know that the achievements of my peers, who produce outstanding educational materials, will be similarly recognized."

Howard Matis
Contemporary Physics Education Project
Winner of the 2017 Excellence Award

Donate Now

Gray arrow Make a Pledge format_pdf

Thank You to Our Donors

$20,000 and above

General Atomics Sciences Education Foundation

$10,000 - $19,999

Carl Wieman and Sarah Gilbert

$2,500 - $9,999

Randall Knight

$1,000 - $2,499

Ted Hodapp

Timothy McKay

Raymond Serway

Peter Shaffer

Jearl D. Walker

Up to $999

Wendy Adams

Lynn Cominsky

Eugenia Etkina

James Freericks

Larry Gladney

David and Terry Griffiths

Andrew Heckler

Priscilla Laws

Gérard Mourou

Edward F. Redish

Timothy Stelzer