Board of Directors

The Board of Directors shall have overall responsibility for the governance and affairs of the Society, including:

  • Determining strategy for the Society
  • Overseeing the financial affairs of the Society
  • Overseeing the publishing and other operations of the Society
  • All other responsibilities given to the Board by the Constitution & Bylaws
  • All other responsibilities necessary to govern the affairs of the Society


Philip Bucksbaum

Philip H. Bucksbaum
Stanford University and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Sylvester James Gates, Jr.

Sylvester James Gates, Jr.
Brown Theoretical Physics Center
Brown University

Francis Hellman photo

Vice President
Frances Hellman
University of California, Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Non-voting Officers

Kate Kirby

Kate Kirby

Michael Thoennessen 150x175 image

Editor in Chief
Michael Thoennessen

David Gross

Past President
David Gross
Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics
University of California, Santa Barbara

James Hollenhorst

James Hollenhorst


Nora Berrah
University of Connecticut
New England Section

Amitava Bhattacharjee
Princeton University
Division of Plasma Physics

Robin Selinger
Kent State
General Councilor

Baha Balantekin
University of Wisconsin
Division of Nuclear Physics

Vivian F. Incera
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
General Councilor

Ahmadou Wagué
Universite Cheikh
International Councilor

Beverly Berger
NSF (Retired)
Division of Gravitational Physics

Andrea Liu
University of Pennsylvania
General Councilor

Marta Losada
New York University | Abu Dhabi
United Arab Emirates
International Councilor

Corporate Secretary

Jeanette Russo

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.