David D. Meyerhofer

2017 Chair-Elect, Nominating Committee

Biographical Summary

David D. MeyerhoferDavid D. Meyerhofer is the physics division leader at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). His experimental research interests include high energy density and plasma physics, inertial confinement fusion, and the nonlinear interaction of high intensity lasers with atoms, electrons, and the vacuum. He currently leads a Division whose research activities span many areas of physics across a large range of energy scales, from ultracold atoms and neutrino physics to TeV gamma ray observations.

Prior to moving to LANL in 2015, he spent 28 years at the University of Rochester as Professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Physics. He held many management positions at the Laboratory for Laser Energetics, including Director of the Experimental Division and Deputy Director. He received his Ph.D. in Astrophysical Sciences/Plasma Physics from Princeton University in 1987 and an A.B. in Physics (cum laude) from Cornell University in 1981.

He is currently the Chair of the APS Division of Plasma Physics (DPP) and recently completed a 4-year term on the APS Committee on Scientific Publications. He has served on numerous APS/DPP Committees and was an APS/DPP Distinguished Lecturer (2013-2015). He was Associate Editor for plasma physics of Reviews of Modern Physics (2004-2010) and Divisional Associate Editor for Physical Review Letters (2004-2007). He served on the National Research Council’s Board on Plasma Science (1999-2003) and Committee on High Energy Density Plasma Physics (2000- 2002), as well as on various DOE panels. He was elected APS Fellow in 2002.

Candidate Statement

The American Physical Society has recently restructured its Corporate Governance. This creates challenges for the organization as new roles are both filled and defined. The relationship among the Board of Directors, the Council of Representatives, and Senior Management Staff is likely to evolve. The APS has a number of issues that it needs to continue to work on, including,

  • Diversity of the Physics Workforce,
  • The evolution of scientific publishing, including the trend towards Open Access,
  • Improving the communication of the importance of physics research to the nation, including to policy leaders, students who could become the future workforce, and the general public,
  • Taking advantage of the strength of the Society to continue to grow the field.

If chosen, I will work with the Nominating Committee to develop a slate of candidates who can further these efforts and represent the Society at all levels.

Gray arrow Back to Election Homepage