Nominating Committee

The Council shall create a Nominating Committee, the membership of which shall consist of a Chair, the Chair-Elect, the most recent Past Chair, the Immediate Past President, and an additional six members elected by the Council to staggered three-year terms, not more than two of whom may be Councilors. The Chair-Elect shall be elected annually by the members in accordance with Article IX. The Chair-Elect shall serve a one-year term, followed by a one-year term as Chair, followed by a one-year term as the most recent Past Chair. The Nominating Committee shall prepare for the members of the Society a slate of at least two candidates for each of the positions of Vice President, Treasurer, Chair Elect of the Nominating Committee, and the vacant positions of General Councilor and International Councilor. The Nominating Committee shall also prepare a slate of candidates for each other position specified by the Board or the Council from time to time.

Chair: Professor Nora Berrah (01/20 - 12/20)
Univ of Connecticut - Storrs

Chair-Elect: Maria Spiropulu (01/20 - 12/20)

Past Chair: Professor LARRY D GLADNEY (01/20 - 12/20)
Yale University

Member: Ellen Kathryn Longmire (01/18 - 12/20)
University of Minnesota

Member: Craig J Hogan (01/18 - 12/20)
University of Chicago

Member: Fulvia Pilat (01/19 - 12/21)
Oak Ridge National Lab

Member: Piers Coleman (01/19 - 12/21)
Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Member: Lisa Barsotti (01/20 - 12/22)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology MIT

Member: Helen Caines (01/20 - 12/22)
Yale University

Member, Past President: David J Gross (01/20 - 12/20)
University of California, Santa Barbara

Senior Staff
Kate Kirby, APS CEO

Corporate Secretary
Jeanette Russo

Committee Administrator
Lee Bullis

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members